Secondary Dominants

Official support for: musicdevelopments.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I am quite new to RC, therefore maybe my question is simple:

Lets assume I have already a chordprogression.
To make it more interesting I want to substitute a few chords in the progression, by using the secondary domonant of some chord in a different scale/mode.

Something demoed from 4:35min here: https://youtu.be/oYdVatW7t1Y

Question: Is there a smart support to find the secondary dominant for a NEXT chord in the existing progression?
As far as I understand RCs chord logic focusses on what comes BEFORE the chord suggested.

Hi Cliff,

good question! I added this small feature today.
In the next update (v4.2.1 on Monday) you will find this among the suggestions:

I could not find a better place so the suggestion will be part of 'Chord Substitutions'.

Thanks,
Attila
https://www.musicdevelopments.com
Home of RapidComposer, Melodya, MIDI Mutator and Syne
All software 40% off during the Anniversary Sale until April 29!

Hello
Attila!
I really love it when you inform about the upcoming update! It makes life more fun when you are waiting for something new and interesting!

Thank you, lulukom!
Not just bug fixes, but there are also small features in the next update, based on the feedback I received after v4.2:
  • Keyboard left-right arrows move notes and phrases by 'snap' setting
  • Preview implemented when moving notes with the arrow keys (note editing mode)
  • Fixed: Alt/Option-click to split or join notes did not work in note editing
  • States are stored for 'undo' during note editing
  • New MIDI Export setting: Embed 'Program Change' events in exported MIDI
  • New chord suggestion: secondary dominant for the next 'I' chord
  • Fixed: VSTi instruments unloaded for 'undo' if 'Save VSTi State In History' was turned off
  • Fixed: invalid control number inserted to exported MIDI for some soundfonts