"Roll your own" MPE?

Official support for: rogerlinndesign.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm new to LinnStrument and pretty new to MPE. I mostly use synths on iPad within AUM as the AUv3 host, sometimes running midi input through the Mozaic midi scripting tool, which lets you alter midi in pretty much any way you want.

Reading through the manual's section "How to add MPE" ( https://www.rogerlinndesign.com/support ... to-add-mpe ) I don't really see anything that I can't do within AUM (possibly using Mozaic) to effectively enable MPE functionality in (just about?) any AUv3 synth on iOS.

For example, I've created an AUM session where I load four instances of Zeeon, a synth I like that doesn't do MPE. I have set up the four instances to receive on midi channels 2 - 5, respectively. And I've set each up to have its loudness controlled by CC 11, have filter cutoff controlled by CC 74, and have pitch bend of 24 semitones. Then I adjusted LinnStrument to use CC 11 for pressure, and to restrict midi note channels to 2 thru 5, and 24 semitone pitch bend. This seems to work as intended, creating a four voice synth where each voice has its expression independently controlled. (I haven't set anything up yet for common messages LinnStrument sends on CH 1, but forwarding those separately to each Zeeon instance should be trivial.)

I'm wondering whether anyone creates their own "MPE" synths like this. Once I set up forwarding of CH 1 messages, I can't tell how this is functionally any different from using a single instance of a four-voice MPE synth. Is it? It seems more straightforward and flexible than some MPE synths I've tried to use, albeit maybe a little harder to set up initially. But once I have it set up AUM will save/load the session without any need to redo any of the setup, so still quite easy.