How To Replicate CamelCrusher "British Clean" Mode

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey there!
So CamelCrusher no longer works on M1 Macbooks. Since most of my old projects use CamelCrusher in British Clean mode, I'm trying to see if there is a way I could go about building a replica of it.

Sorry it's a broad question, but any ideas how I would go about building a clone of this, or could anyone point me where to look to get me started on the right path?

I've never developed a VST, but I've been a professional software developer for the past 5 years.

(For context CamelCrusher is a distortion plugin)

'British Clean' isnt a mode, its a preset. And from the name, its attempting to give the flavour of some specific guitar amp, ie probably something like a Vox.

Building a clone of this requires more than programming skills, it requires audio DSP skills too. Building distortion, filter and compressor stages is easy enough, but knowing what you're doing well enough to properly replicate the distortion, filter and compressor stages of something specific is a much more advanced ball game.

So your best bet, TBH would probably be to start looking at existing amp modellers. You'll find similar presets in most of them.
my other modular synth is a bugbrand

Hmmm, http://www.camelaudio.com redirects to https://www.apple.com/logicpro/
splice.com wrote:Camel Audio was acquired by Apple in February of 2015.
support.apple.com wrote: If you've been using Camel Audio plug-ins, you can switch to the Logic Pro versions of the plug-ins:
  • Use Phat FX instead of CamelPhat and CamelCrusher (both CamelPhat and CamelCrusher settings are transferred to PhatFX).
So transfer to Logic is (probably not) an option...
We are the KVR collective. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated. Image
My MusicCalc is served over https!!

Yeah, it's in Logic now.