As much information as possible on how classic breaks were recorded

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello everyone

I’m a producer who like a lot of people has sampled classic breaks in the past, and now I’m looking to replace them with drum vsts and plug-in effects, so I am looking for as much information as possible on which drummer played them, what drum kit they were played on, what studio they were recorded at, and what equipment was used to record and mix them. The breaks I am mainly looking for information on are Bobby Byrd - Hot Pants (I’m coming, I’m coming), Led Zeppelin -When The Levee Breaks, The Winstons - Amen Brother, The Incredible Bongo Band - Apache, and The Soul Searchers - Ashley’s Roachclip.

Many Thanks

Anthony

"Led Zeppelin -When The Levee Breaks" is played by John Bonham (obviously). ;)

There is a guy on bandcamp with the same focus who comes pretty close. Forgot his name :?

Hi

Thanks for the quick replies guys, I’ve been researching for some time and I’ve already got some information.

The one I’ve more or less got covered is When The Levee Breaks. From what I’ve read, John Bonham played a new Ludwig Kit and it was recorded at Headley Grange on a stairwell with the microphones at the top and the kit at the bottom to get that big room sound, it was compressed with a Helios F760 compressor and then sent through a Binson Echorec delay unit to tape, and then the tape was slowed down to make it sound even bigger. What I wanted to know was what the closest compressor in VST format would be to the Helios F760; I was thinking the Urei 1176 in all buttons mode as it’s also a FET compressor but I’m not 100% sure. There is actually a preset on Superior Drummer 3 called ‘Levee’ so I will use that as a starting point.