Note timing in a DAW

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Since I'm a beginner in this field, is it possible to know the time between notes in our head without playing back every time we add a note while programming a composition in a DAW?

Beats per minute (BPM) tells you how many quarter note / crotchet beats there are each minute.

If you have a BPM of 120, one four beat bar lasts ((4 beats * 60 seconds) / 120 beats per minute) seconds = 2 seconds.

If you have four regularly spaced notes in a four beat bar at 120 BPM, then your notes start 2 / 4 = 0.5 seconds apart.

So does only feel help writing notes from our head within the wanted moment?

Oh I see what you mean.

Translating the feel of timing is probably for me the trickiest thing. You can subdivide the beat as finely as you like but translating that feel into what you see isn't simple. I don't believe anything can tell you how to get the feel you, alone, are feeling -- it's got to be down to you learning how to translate what you're feeling into your DAW, because you probably can explain it better to the DAW - i.e. writing the notes down and adjusting, over and over until it's right - than you ever could to another person. ... Except most musicians seem to have an implicit understanding of what's meant by a certain feel -- even so, it's not simple to actually play it.

Of course, if you can play an instrument well enough to express the feel you're after and the instrument has MIDI capture, you can capture the feel that way. I never found the patience for getting feel by entering notes into a DAW by hand, gave up and just play via MIDI now - as I improve my playing, the feel gets better :).

---
I failed to note 'since I'm a beginner'.
Yes, you can know many things about the distance between notes. Do you, first, understand how to subdivide by two?