I'm coming 'round to this way of thinking too ...Ben [Camel Audio] wrote:But in general, I don't think its worth the hassle of attempting to stop this kind of thing, as its essentially impossible.
brothersoft ?
- KVRian
- Topic Starter
- 1433 posts since 29 Jan, 2008 from Arboretum Avenue
whiteLABEL - now set free : whiteLABEL ||
-
- Skunk Mod
- 21249 posts since 10 Jun, 2004 from Pony Pasture
Understandable, but that's exactly what the abusers are hoping for.
I'll never eliminate horseflies, but I darned well keep swatting at them. Might not have any permanent effect but I dislike being bit.
I do recognize that there's limited time for swatting; no criticism is implied by the above.
I'll never eliminate horseflies, but I darned well keep swatting at them. Might not have any permanent effect but I dislike being bit.
I do recognize that there's limited time for swatting; no criticism is implied by the above.
-
- KVRer
- 18 posts since 24 Jul, 2008
A quick look at the source code reveals the incredible vileness of this brothersoft thing:
the nofollow says to the index robots : do not follow this link
they want your trafic & keywords but they give you nothing in return, no backlink
sneaky SEO...
Code: Select all
<a href="http://www.atomsplitteraudio.com" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">they want your trafic & keywords but they give you nothing in return, no backlink
sneaky SEO...
-
Bastiaan from Tone2.com Bastiaan from Tone2.com https://www.kvraudio.com/forum/memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=66873
- KVRist
- 291 posts since 30 Apr, 2005 from Amsterdam, The Netherlands
They use GoDaddy's nameservers and registered the domain through GD, but it looks like they run of a dedicated server at ThePlanet.com.Rock Hardbuns wrote:A quick look suggests the site is hosted on godaddy. Might be worth while to send them a letter.
I've dealed with ThePlanet before and they're rather strict on enforcing their own TOS and avoiding infringements, so you shouldn't
have a problem there.
Though I'm sure the owner of that site could just as easily remove your products, it beats having to transfer the whole thing to a new server
- KVRian
- Topic Starter
- 1433 posts since 29 Jan, 2008 from Arboretum Avenue
I'd just like to add a big fat F**K YOU to brothersoft
I'm sitting here dazed getting email after email as they add *everything* to their site

everytime I try and figure out what goes on with it they hit me with adverts telling me I should pay them for every time someone downloads one of my creations.

I'm sitting here dazed getting email after email as they add *everything* to their site
everytime I try and figure out what goes on with it they hit me with adverts telling me I should pay them for every time someone downloads one of my creations.
whiteLABEL - now set free : whiteLABEL ||
- KVRAF
- 13737 posts since 19 Jun, 2008 from Seattle
As much as this totally sucks, and as infuriating as I'm sure it is, it seems a logical (albeit twisted) extension to an "entitlement" mentality/perspective of "free" enterprise.daz.diamond wrote:I'd just like to add a big fat F**K YOU to brothersoft
I'm sitting here dazed getting email after email as they add *everything* to their site
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
everytime I try and figure out what goes on with it they hit me with adverts telling me I should pay them for every time someone downloads one of my creations.
![]()
![]()
We CAN, therefore we DO.
Fascinating, how much time and energy some people devote, to scamming, and ripping-off others "work".
- KVRian
- Topic Starter
- 1433 posts since 29 Jan, 2008 from Arboretum Avenue
this download was brought to you courtesy of FreetardPro (TM) 
[edit:rudeness removed
]
[edit:rudeness removed
Last edited by daz.diamond on Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
whiteLABEL - now set free : whiteLABEL ||
- KVRian
- Topic Starter
- 1433 posts since 29 Jan, 2008 from Arboretum Avenue
reporting back 
forrestlu wrote:i want to discuss with you, could we keep your software on our site
daz.diamond wrote:discussion open :
why do you want to keep the software on the site exactly ?
forrestlu wrote:We want to provide those software for our user download.
daz.diamond wrote:you don't need to - I already provide it myself, and in a lot of cases for free. why does bs continue to steal my IP - you've just had all the files, and I see you're taking all the images now too - surely you realise that this is my IP and not for you to be messing with, right ? can you not see the copyright notice clearly visible on each and every page of my site ? afterall, the bs site is pretty clear about its own rights and openly states it intends to protect its own rights - why do you keep ignoring mine ?
forrestlu wrote:I'm sorry, mayabe we have some misunderstand.We don't have any other mind, We're a professional download site. We only want to help any software author promote his product or others.
daz.diamond wrote:the only relevant form of help is one that is accepted freely. this is like raping someone and then saying "I only wanted to help you get layed"
forrestlu wrote:I will remove all your software from our site tomorrow morning.
to be continued .... ?daz.diamond wrote:good, you've changed your mind, but I'm not holding my breath whilst I wait. I will only believe you when I see my IP removed from your site.
and what about :
Camel Audio ?
and
Atom Splitter Audio ?
they seem to want their software removing too
their publisher details are in this thread : http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2681 38
it would be a good idea to contact these developers too - no ?
I'm interested in your claim : "We're a professional download site." as this does not square with your apparent "f**k you" attitude.
now you've become a member of KVR I suggest you join in with the community, introduce yourself, start posting, and ASK developers IF they WANT to be included in your site. Some will, others won't, but at least if you ask before you act you're not going to look like scum, which, afterall might actually benefit you and your apparently questionable business. You maintain a myspace page so why not ? what have you got to lose ? there really is no point in lurking in the shadows, and I'm sure you'd rather have friends at kvr than enemies ... right ?
Tell us when AtomSplitter, Camel and whiteLABEL have been removed from your site. the thread is here :
http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2681 38
we're waiting.
whiteLABEL - now set free : whiteLABEL ||
-
- KVRist
- 445 posts since 10 Jun, 2004
forrestlu,
Please remove all AudioRealism software/download links from your site.
Please remove all AudioRealism software/download links from your site.
AudioRealism
www.audiorealism.se
www.audiorealism.se
-
- KVRian
- 606 posts since 6 Aug, 2005
- KVRian
- Topic Starter
- 1433 posts since 29 Jan, 2008 from Arboretum Avenue
same here - a PM saying my software removed + my login to BS deleted
thankyou forrest - I'm sorry I've had to shout at you and make so much noise, but it seems to have achieved my objective and got you to remove other items too
oh, and welcome to kvr - we're all actually pussy-cats when we're not being grumpy
atomsplitter - it would have been rude of me not to
I'm assuming camel & audiorealism will get a similar PM in the next day or so - please post here to confirm
thankyou forrest - I'm sorry I've had to shout at you and make so much noise, but it seems to have achieved my objective and got you to remove other items too
oh, and welcome to kvr - we're all actually pussy-cats when we're not being grumpy
atomsplitter - it would have been rude of me not to
I'm assuming camel & audiorealism will get a similar PM in the next day or so - please post here to confirm
whiteLABEL - now set free : whiteLABEL ||
-
- KVRer
- 18 posts since 24 Jul, 2008
forrestlu, you should send a 404 header instead of a 301 :
http://web-sniffer.net/?url=http%3A%2F% ... =GET&uak=0
The offending webpage with the stolen keywords will continue to appear in search results for a long time with this 301 redirection
http://web-sniffer.net/?url=http%3A%2F% ... =GET&uak=0
The offending webpage with the stolen keywords will continue to appear in search results for a long time with this 301 redirection
-
- KVRist
- 445 posts since 10 Jun, 2004
daz.diamond,
They were responsive and have removed our stuff from their site. To be fair I'm not sure they were doing anything in breach of our license agreements towards us (simply linking to our download server).
--Mike
They were responsive and have removed our stuff from their site. To be fair I'm not sure they were doing anything in breach of our license agreements towards us (simply linking to our download server).
--Mike
- KVRian
- Topic Starter
- 1433 posts since 29 Jan, 2008 from Arboretum Avenue
kool 
... it certainly looks (to me at least) that BS is trying to do the right thing now - as forrest said - he just wants to help people ... I'll leave you to make your own mind-up on that one, suffice it to say : I respect forrest's willingness to come here and respond to the various concerns - it puts him in a totally different league to some of the "other" sites I'm sure you're aware of
... it certainly looks (to me at least) that BS is trying to do the right thing now - as forrest said - he just wants to help people ... I'll leave you to make your own mind-up on that one, suffice it to say : I respect forrest's willingness to come here and respond to the various concerns - it puts him in a totally different league to some of the "other" sites I'm sure you're aware of
whiteLABEL - now set free : whiteLABEL ||

