Spotted a freeware synth being sold on ebay

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Instruments Discussion
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Post

Arglebargle wrote:So if I release a plugin for free, it's legal for someone else to make money on it? Doesn't sound remotely legal to me.
It depends entirely on the licence under which you release it. For example, if it's free software in the FSF sense then it's certainly legal for anyone to sell it (provided they adhere to the rules).

Post

Arglebargle wrote:
chokehold wrote: It's all legal.
Immoral, but legal.
You sure about that? So if I release a plugin for free, it's legal for someone else to make money on it? Doesn't sound remotely legal to me.
You'd get a kick out of the hundreds of thousands of dollars my employer spends on Red Hat licenses...

Post

james0tucson wrote:
Arglebargle wrote:
chokehold wrote: It's all legal.
Immoral, but legal.
You sure about that? So if I release a plugin for free, it's legal for someone else to make money on it? Doesn't sound remotely legal to me.
You'd get a kick out of the hundreds of thousands of dollars my employer spends on Red Hat licenses...
Red Hat charges for service and support, no? Is this Ebay seller offering that? :hihi:

Post

[DELETED]

Post

kelvyn wrote:"If a potential buyer is dumb enough to not look the plugin up first, but instead just buys it, then I think he should be taught a lesson and pay the money."

So the guys who fall for this kind of offer deserve it do they!!! What kind of f*cked up mentality is that? The world is crappy enough without that kind of sh*t... This is a forum where people inform others about exactly that kind of stuff and naivety/innocence/lack of knowledge aren't reasons to penalize those out there who don't have it in there psychological make up to thoroughly check things out like some of the clever clogs here. Just because it's a dog eat dog world doesn't mean it has to stay a dog eat dog world. Hello dystopia... :cry:
+1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tDj_Van ... uNbgY-4qFK

Circumcision's just another way of saying 'bye to the 'hood

Post

osiris wrote:No, there's quite a few legit music sellers on ebay. Why so upset kelvyn? I'll give you an example. I bought what I thought was a cheap DVD off of Yahoo Shopping. When it was all said and done, these people had my credit card number and were about to begin charging me $15.00 a month for their 'DVD Discount' club. NONE of this was on the website. If I'd bothered to research this one little bit, I could of found out what kind of company it was. There were literally hundreds of complaints against them. I got off lucky. Some people they charged a YEARS worth of their little club fee to their credit cards.
Caveat emptor - so old it has a latin phrase for it.....
Sorry if my reply was a little tense... one of those days I suppose.

I think it's extremely sensible to google check as there are a lot of charlatans out there scheming to con people out of their hard earned cash. i just don't think it's that cool to get down on those innocent/foolish/naive people who fall into a scheme because they didn't do whats sensible. A pat on the head and a guiding hand is probably more helpful.
I'm glad you didn't fall for the scam... more power to you.

Once again apologies for my outburst.

Post

You have every right to your opinion. The moral of that story is I DID fall for it. If I'd only taken the time to look it up. My favorite way is to put the name of the company, followed by scam. You'd be surprised at what you find. But take care with that also because people can complain about the pettiest non-event possible. Luckily, when I showed my bank the pages of complaints from other people, they helped me get it fixed. But I had to go to a branch and fill out a ton of paperwork and get grilled by this agent. It wasn't fun. The net's a crazy place and you take your chances, but be armed. The world is at your fingertips and there's no reason not to use that.
Peace out!!!

Post

Well, it appears the seller has either sold all his merchandise or what. The listing at ebay has mysterioulsy ended very quickly....

The seller also offered another freeware VST, Alice, which also have disapperead

Post

He is now selling rhythm-2

Calling your company norCtrack is very suspicious as well.

Post

I am not bothered by this nearly as much as I am by the giant organized-crime-funded operations that make millions selling the latest payware. Realistically, he is selling freeware. So, he is neither going to make much money or theive much profit. Its a lesser crime.

I recall a notorious "guy" that had a huuuuge site.
He sold DVDs packed full with whatever you wanted. A la carte. His site was set up like a store that just listed every software ever. It charged by the 4.5GB unit ffs.... (No, I never ordered from him. Fukk you.)
That shit is outrageous.
Im into freedom, and I think men deserve the chance to make a mess of themselves and make bad decisions, etc. But, if you are a car thief, you do not get to open up a dealership on Main St. and get rich.
More similar to the recent CineSamples thing I guess...
ImageImageImageImage

Post

Well, when deciding to sell Syncersofts freeware for profit, why not sell the best of the bunch : the Polyvoks station

Much better than R2

:hihi:

Post

kelvyn wrote:"If a potential buyer is dumb enough to not look the plugin up first, but instead just buys it, then I think he should be taught a lesson and pay the money."

So the guys who fall for this kind of offer deserve it do they!!! What kind of f*cked up mentality is that? The world is crappy enough without that kind of sh*t... This is a forum where people inform others about exactly that kind of stuff and naivety/innocence/lack of knowledge aren't reasons to penalize those out there who don't have it in there psychological make up to thoroughly check things out like some of the clever clogs here. Just because it's a dog eat dog world doesn't mean it has to stay a dog eat dog world. Hello dystopia... :cry:
It may be unpopular or some such BS, but I applaud your perspective here. Society is based on cooperation, yet it seems most people believe in antisocial principals which would ultimately destroy society. Especially in my country.

My point: Good on you for thinking about your fellow human beings! :)
- dysamoria.com
my music @ SoundCloud

Post

I remember of this...

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=4765148

I see a bad thing to take all the effort from another person who also is giving you their things for free, and get money from it...

Have a good day.
Image

Post

AUTO-ADMIN: Non-MP3, WAV, OGG, SoundCloud, YouTube, Vimeo, Twitter and Facebook links in this post have been protected automatically. Once the member reaches 5 posts the links will function as normal.
Hello Dear friends, I am the owner of the company norCtrack Studio and vst-store.com! We previously had permission to sell products directly from the manufacturer syncersoft. But at this point, we had disagreements, and we do not sell products of other manufacturers. At the moment we only sell our products. We will never sell products from other manufacturers without their permission. You can see our products on eBay http://stores.ebay.com/vst-store (http://stores.ebay.com/vst-store) We very soon we will have an official website
http://vst-store.com/ (http://vst-store.com/)

http://norctrack.com/ (http://norctrack.com/)
Thank you for your time!

Post

hi,
long time ago i've reported to ebay this problem about my
freeware vst synth. ebay ignore this kind of request.
since i have added something like 'can not be sell especially on ebay'
no change of ebay behavior of course. since i have never do something through ebay.

Sendy wrote:Was looking for synths and stumbled into this right away:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RHYTHM-2-VSTi ... 5128175950

I'd have posted this in the Syncersoft forum, but, it's completely empty.

20 dollars seems a bit steep for a freeware synth, but worry not - shipping is !!FREE!!

Should I report this page?
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Instruments”