How should I improve my GUI's?

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Instruments Discussion
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I've been making plugins for a couple of years or so now. Personally I think I'm slowly evolving into making better GUI's. But I'm not really sure.

When comparing these two:

http://www.majken.se/vst/grphx/subduer-b6.jpg

http://www.majken.se/vst/grphx/chimera-big.jpg

Which one is better, and why? Are there any elements that's better in one of them while other elements are better in the other? Or are there things you would like to see changed? I'm trying to improve my skills for a new plugin but I don't really know what direction to take. Any ideas?

Thanks for taking the time!

/Majken

more contrast
bigger fonts and controls
no textured backgrounds

;)

i like the subduer one best.

i think its because of the 'texture' in the background colors used. a flat color puts me off. looks to 'fake'. but, i do like the colors in chimera. to be honest, they both are a little 'gridlike' in the layout. too many straight lines for me.

i do like your color palette on em both though.

peace.
ImageImageImageImage

you shouldn't.... ever.... just do more of the same.

i love your guis (and synths)

despite the fact those two are different they share a certain style that makes it obvious its you (your oatmeal skin and twitch do as well to a lesser extent)

i love your colours and controls and everything really.

hmm, not useful to you at all that was it :hihi:

make them gooeyer

woah, i must repsectfully disagree with ALL of disturbs points! no offense....

cept for that implied point on trance.... haha....
ImageImageImageImage

Jens, "B.t.w.: it appears I was wrong"

Chimera is beautiful