vst browser for finding vst dll, idea for new software

Talk about all things "KVR Developer Challenge" related.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

hi, I have this idea for an easier life:

a tool to find, manage, browser dll in many roots of your disk,

featuring:
- free and open source;
- drag'n'drop support (dll to host);
- image preview (connecting if necessary to kvr database);
- properties read of vst + tag by kvr database;
- filtered search by category, FX, synth, echo, rev, etc.. ;
- info stored in internal db for DAW with occasional internet connection;
- portable for external storage device;

with tons of vst-s I think it will be greatful!

What you think about?

I'm a beginner developer, any one would like to help me?

vespa (it)

how many vsts does it take a kvr person to make a song?

Intresting idea for someone to do, not for me tho. First of all you need to know how to analyze a dll to distinguish a VSTE from a VSTI. And that has Image-Line tried to do many years now. Detecting DLL's is easy, but determining what DLL is what, is another story.
Best regards from Johan Brodd.
JoBroMedia since 1996.

Not many hosts support drag and drop of VST dlls - just Energy XT - maybe a couple more

Still a cool idea
Member 12, Studio One v6.5, VPS Avenger, Kontakt 7, Spitfire, Dune, Arturia, Sonible, Baby Audio, CableGuys, Nektar Panorama P1, Vaporizer 2 to test out

drag'n'drop is supported of course in vsthost, FL Studio (on Wrapper channel, blank or with another vst), energy xt as you said, minihost.
I think it also supported in other host, just try with explorer.

I wrote a shell extension for the explorer. Just right click on a VST DLL -> properties and see the VST interna incl. a screenshot of the GUI.
Not exactly what you're looking for, but a start...

Christian

Hi @ll,

God send you a light, vespadj. I'm working with FLStudio now about 9 years
using a very large collection of freeware plugs, often very different in
sound and other aspects.