Sylenth1 vs Albino

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Instruments Discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

So I"ve already tested the Arturia Minimoog against the MiniMonsta to check out the bass tones, and was recommended the Sylenth 1, which is now available on Macs, as an alternative.

I've been watching some of the tutorials on the Future Music DVDs and am intrigued by the simplicity of the Albino, after seeing a Benga feature.

I'm not a dubstep producer, but am very interested to know everyone's opinion on the better start off VST.

I'm on Live 7 on a MacBook, and have been trying to understand Operator, Analog etc, and am having no luck understanding (or enjoying) the user interface.

So I'm looking for some advice on what to do - I don't want to be limited to a 'certain' sound, if that makes sense.

thanks
James

Albino more can be more indepth, more osc and filter options, the ARP and mod matrix too. It CAN be simple but Sylenth1 is much more user friendly from the outset.

Atmosphere sounds softer and more silky like. Sylenth has the harder edged sound, I feel it has much quicker attack envelope also which further emphasizes this.

I love the phasor on sylent1 but love flexibility and osc selection on albino. EDIT: Actually I don't it's got far too many osc selections and i've experimented with most of them and I didn't find many of them useful(the waveforms). Soundscapes and weird noises and bell like scapes then it's ideal though.

sorry, if you could give an update/insight into CPU usage as well that would be great; the Sylenth1 seems to have a VERY good CPU usage.

thank you
j

mrjameskent wrote:sorry, if you could give an update/insight into CPU usage as well that would be great; the Sylenth1 seems to have a VERY good CPU usage.

thank you
j
CPU on Sylenth as you said is excellent. Albino is good however it uses more from standard than sylenth1. Naturally the more oscs and such you're using start to increase cpu load more.