Sq8l

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Instruments Discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

After starting the thread on "patch wars," I thought the only way to really get interactive here without it getting to dispersive, would be to take one (FREE) synth at a time, and ask everyone to "tweak it good" and come up with a neat patch to share here.
What do you think?

I thought I'd start with SQ8L (although it could've been any other), since it seems quite basic and yet quite pleasurable to work with.

Anyone up to it?

brian

i'd join in. love the old sq8l.
Bedroom Producers Blog << Free VST Plugins!

Neat idea, are you thinking of doing like one synth a month or perhaps weekly ? One a week would take well over 76 years to go through all the free synths currently available. I'm no sound designer, but I'm sure I could provide at least one patch. So I'm in.

Great!! :D

We can give it a week or so before starting a new one. If we could make a sub-forum for this kind of thing it'd be great!

SQ8L is a "light" version, so it looks like voices can't be saved to memory. (A screenshot before closing might be a good idea, folks!!)
I'm awaiting info from the programmer about the complete version that allows saving..

I once had a friend (we lost touch after high school) who could make his Casio CZ101 do things that a DX7 couldn't!! -I have always wished I could be that talented!

I'll see if I can post a few patches over the weekend.

brian

briandc wrote:Great!! :D

SQ8L is a "light" version, so it looks like voices can't be saved to memory. (A screenshot before closing might be a good idea, folks!!)
I'm awaiting info from the programmer about the complete version that allows saving..

brian

It is only "light", as in, it is not "heavy". It is the full emulation of the actual synth. It is is one of the closest "emulations" you are likely to see in the vst world. To do with the chip. Research it. You will see what I mean...