1968 Pt 4 Grosvenor Square (Full and finished version)

Share your music, collaborate, and partake in monthly music contests.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Gone
Last edited by Googly Smythe on Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

2:27 - 4:50 is such a great part. Don't tell me you aren't a big Genesis fan. ;)

Some things could be done better in my eyes, but the song itself all in all is great. Being a Drummer myself here and there I would reduce the drums, make it more creepy and subtile, but I'm totally influenced by Collins and what he would have done on this song.

It seems you have pictures in your head before doing a song. That's the way I do my songs.

What mellotron u use?

Cruba wrote:2:27 - 4:50 is such a great part. Don't tell me you aren't a big Genesis fan. ;)

Some things could be done better in my eyes, but the song itself all in all is great. Being a Drummer myself here and there I would reduce the drums, make it more creepy and subtile, but I'm totally influenced by Collins and what he would have done on this song.

It seems you have pictures in your head before doing a song. That's the way I do my songs.

What mellotron u use?
Thanks for listening and taking the time to comment!
1) Genesis - a fan of the first 2 albums, especially Nursery Crymes.
2) Drums - yeah, too much Neil Peart, not enough Ringo!
3) Yep, I have a vision of the "song" before I start - sometimes the finished track even resembles that vision! Like this one. :D
4) The mellotron sounds (strings and flutes) are from the Haliotronic instrument in HALion. Bass and pads are HALion, too.
:tu:

A good conclusion to your 1968 set. I really like those hippy ladies! And I agree with Cruba that the kind of Genesis-esque part in the middle is really strong. You change the mood several times in there in a slightly surprising but welcome kind of way. Thanks for sharing!

Sounds more 90s grunge to me
Amazon: why not use an alternative