A High Quality Noise Reduction Plugin?

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi KVR,

I've been an amateur audio editor for well over 10 years now. I'm by no means a professional, but I know my way around some things and can usually figure things out myself. I've run into some troubles however, so I've decided to ask here. I listen to alot of old music, so alot of my time is spent making it sound as good as possible for my own personal listening. So, audio restoration / mastering, I guess. With alot of older music, I try to use noise reduction tools, but often times I prefer not to use them at all or use them very sparingly, as the built-in noise reducer on Audacity does the job, but sometimes it sounds "overdone" or has that "too filtered" look and sound after using it. Audacity has been the most accessible noise reducer tool for me, and Audacity is basically what I've taught myself on and know. I've experimented a little bit with other plugins, and have used Adobe Audition a few times, and of course I have found that something like Adobe Audition is similar, but superior in quality. I noticed this especially when editing vinyl rips I had made of some records I like. Audition costs money however, so I was searching around to see if there was any sort of free or affordable plugin I could use in Audacity that's comparable or better. I actually had Voxengo Redunoise under my effects but have never really used it, but when I figured it out, I was actually blown away by the results. It managed to clean up so much hiss without affecting the sound at all. I was however extremely disappointed to find that this plugin is only in demo form, and so whenever I applied it to the full track, there would be 1 second sections of silence applied throughout the track as well. Voxengo has discontinued this plugin apparently, and I have not seen a free version floating around without the demo limitatio