beginner ONLY - simple guide to musicology

Chords, scales, harmony, melody, etc.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Go to 00:30 to skip past the [loud and obnoxious] intro.

This musicology guide is for complete beginners who don't about scales or chords. By the end, you'll have enough knowledge to compose your first EDM tune.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o18NYH_WzNc

This is absurd. This is NOT Musicology.

Musicology is the scientific study of humans making music in and as culture. Their concepts, behaviours and results (texts, sounds), historically built, socially mantained, and individually experienced, identifying the agents of innovation and change.

You can use musicology to study the musical practice of a community, let's say a group of EDM musicians in a given time and space, and come up with a description (what they call what they do, how they do it and what results they get from it - basically HOW they do it) and then an explanation (WHY they do it the way they do it), that might lead to a "theory" of their specific music, but that's not really what's in this video.

What's in this video seems to be a reductionist analysis not indexed to any particular group of musicians, neither a substancial corpus of musics, nor any substancial explanation to fund those claims. Furthermore, many concepts used in the video don't belong, neither are applied by many of those making this kind of music.

A real musicology video could be, for instance, and explanation of HOW and WHY Martin Garrix does the music he does, detailing his concepts and behaviours, and sourcing his particular methods and some of his songs as example. And, of course, this could be very different than, let's say Avicii. Don't shoehorn things like this.
Play fair and square!

Musicology my arse!

Basically it's total nonsense!
Mark Taylor, Chameleon Music - Professional composition and sound design for all media since 1994.

https://www.chameleonmusic.co.uk/

Musicology, ill put that in my vocabulary basket.