Is there something wrong with Cakewalk?

Audio Plugin Hosts and other audio software applications discussion
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey guys, first post in this community (yay).

I'm new to this hobby, and poor AF. So I'm pretty much only using free software, vsts and samples.

I dont see anyone talking about Cakewalk, so I'm gathering it isnt very popular. Is there something wrong with it?

No. Cakewalk is awesome for free. And it was even pretty good when it used to cost a bunch of money.

No one talks about it on KVR because it isn’t REAPER or Bitwig.
THIS MUSIC HAS BEEN MIXED TO BE PLAYED LOUD SO TURN IT UP

Just go for it. Best for no money that you can get. Nothing wrong with it, nothing wrong with using it.

Actually, I considered it a few times now, even though I'm on an expensive payware DAW. Unfortunately, my controller keyboard has some issues with it (some preset functionality using the Maeckie HUI protocol won't work with it), and, I found it to be a bit overwhelming, and kind of hesitated to get used to it. But, that's about it really. I'm sure you can work fine in it.

It is somewhat unpopular around here for some good reasons. First, and this has not really been mitigated AFAIK, it's a Windows only product. There was an attempt at a Mac version but it was something of a failure IIRC. Second, before it was free, Cakewalk, formerly 12-Tone Systems, had a very unpopular resale policy that didn't allow you to sell your used copy on if you didn't like it.

The latter point is of course completely irrelevant now that it's free. However, if you're trying to figure out why it's not that popular here, those are some of the reasons.

Finally, while it is a powerful and usable tool, it has something of a quirky design and weird user experience. This is largely because it is a product with a very long history and so still has some bad habits.

It's great for free, but I wouldn't expect most KVR users to be that interested in it today.