Using preamp plugins

How to do this, that and the other. Share, learn, teach. How did X do that? How can I sound like Y?
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I’m looking for advice on best practice using preamp plugins. I’m new to these, so interested to hear other people’s experience.

Do you put the preamp at the beginning of the FX chain on each channel?

Before or after for example, an amp plugin on a guitar / electric piano part?

If you use the preamp eq, how do you use it? I would use an eq later in the chain for mixing. Maybe the preamp eq can achieve a given sound, and then a further eq down the chain can be used to mix the sound with other sounds?

And given that most preamps are emulations of hardware desks, would you use the same preamp on all of your channels to give a unified sound? Or do you mix and match, or simply use preamps on channels you feel need them?

Thanks for your input on this...

Do you mean preamps or channel strips? I wouldn't expect for a preamp emulation to include any EQ - maybe an HPF with a couple of stepped frequencies for removing rumble.

In terms of tracking authenticity, one would expect to insert a preamp at the top of the signal chain (but after any HPF) as it would be used for achieving an optimal signal level for further processing.

If you want to emulate a desk/console then you would be using the same preamp as the first insert on each channel - though you might benefit from cleaning the signal with some EQ first.

As far as mixing and processing goes, you can insert one wherever you want to add some colour, weight, harmonics, saturation to a signal.

Nothing wrong with mixing and matching as you see fit. Not all records have every part recorded on the same console. Sometimes different sections will be tracked and mixed in completely different studios with different gear available.

I think about the actual signal chain I would have in an analog studio. Would there be a preamp in the signal, and if so, where?