Synth overload?

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Instruments Discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi everyone,

Is it generally advised to work with 1 or few synth instruments or is the general sentiment to have as many synths as possible to be able to produce the broadest amount of sounds etc?

Curious on others' experience!

You have just started a civil war which will become quite uncivil 🥳
No auto tune...

... perspective.
Colored Pencils Soft Core 24 Count.png
... or:
172 Colored Pencil Set.png
Work within the 'limitations/potential' of what you have available to you.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I'm not a musician, but I've designed sounds that others use to make music. http://soundcloud.com/obsidiananvil

It pretty well depends on how much money you have and how many toys you want, the rest is hot air. You use as many or as few synths as you want and no big mouth who sparks a war here is right or wrong. S/w is cheap enough to be able to use hundreds and some do. Personally I only use 2 or 3 softsynths regularly, but that's just because I don't like programming sw. But I regularly use at least 8 hw synths. I've made tracks with only 1 synth before and it's perfectly doable but I don't generally like the results that way. Probably I use 3 or 4 synths on most tracks, not including drums. Sometimes more...because I can. :shrug:

one!
a wall sized modular!

As many as you can buy.
aliasing plugin owner
:?

One quality hardware synthesizer should cover most needs. Having more can be useful if you are looking for certain synthesis methods, filters, etc. Softsynths can do similiar things depending on their capabilities.

vurt wrote: Sun Apr 23, 2023 8:04 pm one!
a wall sized modular!
muralla-china-t.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
aliasing plugin owner

This is all you will ever need.

martiu wrote: Sun Apr 23, 2023 9:02 pm