Moog Ladder Filter - Research Paper

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hello! I have been "lurking" this forum for a while, but haven't posted. I'm not sure of all the etiquette yet, so please let me know if I'm off base with anything.

I am relatively new to DSP. I have done the Max MSP / PureData thing for a couple years, and finally breaking out into other things as I'm up against the limitations of those frameworks. I am trying to make a MiniMoog Model D, and wanted to write my own implementation of the ladder filter. I was heavily inspired by Urs Heckmann's blog posts from 2016 (One-pole unlimited / monster). This really got the wheels turning for me, and I like the simplicity of the "s" terms as an accumulator for the capacitors. My degree is in Electrical Engineering, so I'm well aquatinted with the idea of the capacitor state as a function of accumulated charge. While this model may be slightly reductive, the advantage seems to be how simple the control is, particularly with setting the cutoff frequency through the "g" term. The blog articles only allude to the full implementation, and since I opted for a non-linear model with global feedback (positive feedback overdrive, not just the negative feedback resonance), I spent quite a bit of time figuring out how to set up a multi-dimensional NR solver. I was documenting this as a went, and realized I basically had half a "research paper", and that it wouldn't be too much more work to format it into something presentable. I also figured I may as well publish it somewhere in hopes that it would assist someone trying to do something similar, and answer some of the questions that I had throughout this process.