Converting Linear Phase FIR to Minimum Phase FIR, for a complete newbie

DSP, Plugin and Host development discussion.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hey!
Please forgive me if at any point of this post I am an idiot, I am very new to DSP.

I would like to make a Python script for FL Studio's Fruity Convolver to automatically convert a loaded sample to a Minimum Phase IR. I am trying to replicate the functionality of MCabinet that Au5 does in this video (which as I understand, converts the audio sample to a minimum phase impulse response). From a bit of research, I have found that they are using a Linear Phase filter which is converted to Minimum Phase through some operations. I was able to find this website which has the full conversion from linear phase to minimum phase within 4 lines.

My issue is, I don't understand what any of these steps are actually doing. I would use a library and skip this whole process, but I would like to distribute this script so others can use it without having to set up a crazy library. Ideally, all the code would be contained within one single .pyscript file that people can run on a selection of audio and get the minimum phase IR.

When I first found this rabbit hole, I created a script which would take the FFT of the first 2^n samples in a selection, find the absolute values of all the complex numbers, and do the IFFT on this new array of only real-valued data, which would result in a sample that was as close to an impulse as I could make it, but retained the tonal aspects of the source sample. Since then, I have learned a lot about FFTs and I realized I was doing it without windowing, which made the quality of the output a lot worse. Once I implement that, I am assuming that I need to perform the operations from the Codepad site on this output to get the minimum phase IR. Is this correct? Can this be reasonably programmed without external libraries?