1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Alex Hilton / A1AUDIO
  4. »
  5. A1TriggerGate
  6. »
  7. Reviews

A1TriggerGate

 My KVR
Gate Sequencer Plugin by Alex Hilton / A1AUDIO

A1TriggerGate has an average user rating of 4.67 from 3 reviews

Rate & Review A1TriggerGate

User Reviews by KVR Members for A1TriggerGate

Reviewed By Bady89 [read all by] on 9th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This plugin is the Key to create awesome bass lines, very amazing free plugin.

Big thanks to the creator.

One thing that could be better: It would be nice if i could configure the Sequencer BPM without changing host BPM.

Reviewed By Drage1000 [read all by] on 25th July 2019
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Mac.
Last edited by Drage1000 on 25th July 2019.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Only one review, this really deserved hundreds because it is simply excellent. A very flexible yet simple and intuitive tool, which even in expert mode is simple to understand and tweak parameters. Bot sure what more one could want from a gating effect but it beats all the commercial ones I've tried. And its free, easily worth a score or more.

Reviewed By Sycopation [read all by] on 20th October 2015
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows.
Last edited by Sycopation on 21st October 2015.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I like this plugin a lot. The presets all seem to be geared to dance / EDM genres, which doesn't do a whole lot for me, so I basically never use them.

So, if you're not working in those genres, you might think this thing is way too over-the-top. The solution to that is simple - turn down the mix knob. Actually, I rarely use this over 50%, and I quite often use this as a send effect rather than an insert. I find it easier to control that way.

My favorite use for this is on pads. It just adds a rhythmic component to them. But again, subtlety is key. There is a fine line between adding a relatively subtle rhytmic pulse to a track, and making the whole track sound like an EDM banger.

It's free, but having used it now for 3+ months, it would easily be worth at least $20 to me, and I'm a cheap SOB. It's just sooooo easy to use, and it can really help give a nice "breathing" to an otherwise lifeless part. Just don't try to use it to rhythmize your whole track, unless you want it to be repetitive as all getout.

One suggestion I have for improvement is to be able to adjust the note value of each 16-part pattern. It only allows for 16th note durations, which can be pretty limiting, especially if you're not into dance music.

Latest 3 reviews from a total of 3

Comments & Discussion for Alex Hilton / A1AUDIO A1TriggerGate

Discussion
Discussion: Active
SynthJocky
SynthJocky
20 June 2015 at 9:49pm

Fantastic plugin, definitely worth getting if you want a sturdy yet simple rhythmic gate processor in your mixes. 5/5.

Will Zégal
Will Zégal
29 July 2015 at 8:53am

Impressive work. Plenty of functions with remote control and automation on almost each, easy and simple to use, even in expert mode, steady and efficient, clear and readable GUI. 5/5.

miikalumi
miikalumi
27 July 2017 at 5:06am

Very nice plugin when it works, thank you! I'm having sync problems on OS X / Logic Pro 9, also initial opening of the plugin freezes Logic for about a minute.

Drage1000
Drage1000
25 July 2019 at 10:33am

I run it in OS X/Ableton and it works great. I would say this is one of my top 5 free plugins, it is way better than any of the commercial gating effects I have tried. Very intuitive controls in expert mode, simply superb!!.

Please log in to join the discussion