Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Dexed

It is not possible to review Dexed - this is because the developer has requested we exclude Dexed from the User Review process.
Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

mztk
mztk
14 June 2014 at 6:25am

Dexed V5 is read by Orion on startup but not appearing in.

plugin list :( gonna try older versions. win32/vista.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

bob bobwood
bob bobwood
14 June 2014 at 9:33pm

here's what I tried earlier, but I'll bet you've been there already....

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=413740

ballacr75
ballacr75
30 June 2014 at 2:17pm

Why not make mouse vertical movements?

arkmabat
arkmabat
6 July 2014 at 12:21am

Free presets by Tim Conrardy:

http://patcharena.com/downloads/comment.php?dlid=620&ENGINEsessID=64373a5c0652c6a9147bada9d58d7530.

DrewDale
DrewDale
7 July 2014 at 12:36pm
rootberg
rootberg
1 August 2014 at 10:15pm

This is actually a very interesting emulation. I haven't really been impressed by FM8 as _an emulation_ of DX7s etc, but I can respect it as a good synth in it's own right. From this I actually hear a very DX7 sounding synth. I think brass patches sound very cool for example, in a way that can't really be made with other synth types. Well done.

And man is the interface pretty.

Jk, it looks ass, but charming in its own way :)

tnkdesbois
tnkdesbois
5 August 2014 at 3:33pm

Outstanding DX7 emulation ! A masterwork !
Features to add :
- A "panic" button that kills all sound output as some sounds seem to be buggy and loop forever.
- An "init" button to start sounds from scratch, like there was one on the original DX7.

asb2m10
asb2m10
12 September 2014 at 2:30am

The "init" button has been added in the 0.7.0 version.

The sound loop bug is fixed; so, no need for "panic" button.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

rootberg
rootberg
5 August 2014 at 4:35pm

tnkdesbois: I hear ya. I think the "loop" you might talk about is when you play a patch and change patch while holding a key, then the old patch never receives a note off and keeps going, if I'm not mistaken. But your problem might be different.

And you can actually flip back to the old patch and hit the hang up key to make it stop. But yea, a bit confusing :)

StudioDave
StudioDave
28 September 2014 at 11:15am

The latest codebase does not build on Fedora 19 x86_64. Here's the error:

[dlphilp@localhost Linux]$ make
Compiling PluginEditor.cpp
../../Source/PluginEditor.cpp: In constructor 'DexedAudioProcessorEditor::DexedAudioProcessorEditor (DexedAudioProcessor*)':
../../Source/PluginEditor.cpp:216:60: error: 'juce::Button::ButtonState' is not a class or namespace
monoButton->setState (processor->isMonoMode () ? Button::ButtonState::buttonDown : Button::ButtonState::buttonNormal);
^
../../Source/PluginEditor.cpp:216:94: error: 'juce::Button::ButtonState' is not a class or namespace
monoButton->setState (processor->isMonoMode () ? Button::ButtonState::buttonDown : Button::ButtonState::buttonNormal);
^
../../Source/PluginEditor.cpp: In member function 'virtual void DexedAudioProcessorEditor::buttonClicked (juce::Button*)':
../../Source/PluginEditor.cpp:365:64: error: 'juce::Button::ButtonState' is not a class or namespace
monoButton->setState (processor->isMonoMode () ? Button::ButtonState::buttonDown : Button::ButtonState::buttonNormal);
^
../../Source/PluginEditor.cpp:365:98: error: 'juce::Button::ButtonState' is not a class or namespace
monoButton->setState (processor->isMonoMode () ? Button::ButtonState::buttonDown : Button::ButtonState::buttonNormal);
^
make: *** [build/intermediate/Debug/PluginEditor_94d4fb09.o] Error 1.

AFAICT my Juce code is up-to-date. Any suggestions ?

Btw, is there an email addy or other contact address for the developer ?

Best, .

dp.

StudioDave
StudioDave
28 September 2014 at 11:38am

Fixed by removing namespace qualifier in PluginEditor.cpp at lines 216 and 365.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
28 September 2014 at 2:10pm

It is not here that you should write all that. Talk about the code and the compilations here is totally useless. Te comments written here are sent to the users, and 99,99% of them are single users, not at all involved in the development nor in the tests.

The right place to talk about the aspects of the development, the code, etc. it is on the forum of the Dexed development:

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=413885&start=285

StudioDave
StudioDave
14 October 2014 at 1:12pm

Thank, I missed that there was a dev forum for Dexed.

opoo
opoo
14 October 2014 at 6:50pm

I think for all the novices it should be helpful to make them aware that the original DX7 had only a velocity range up to 100. Todays MIDI standard is 127. This actually srews up the majority of all classic DX7 presets. Its like playing Piano with a slegde hammer. So please, before trying to explore those old DX7 presets make sure you adjust your masterkeyboard or software so your velocity will not exceed 100.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
14 October 2014 at 6:59pm

Hello opoo.

Come and join us on the dev forum of Dexed! You're welcome.

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=5904565#p5904565

clou
clou
22 October 2014 at 10:34pm

great stuff. thanks, man. could you add the feature "key mode" please? I'm not sure if this is only in the dx-7 II. you can switch there from polyphonic to monophonic and especially unison poly with the unison detune from 0-7. sounds great.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
22 October 2014 at 11:37pm

See the new GUI:

http://le-son666.com/software/dexed/dexed0.8b1.png

See at the bottom left of the picture, just above the blue button called "Store".

So... once more, as I answered just above to opoo, I invite you to join us at the dev forum of Dexed. It is the right place to discuss the features, not here on the place made in the current page for general comments on a product.

In the dev forums everybody is welcome to suggest new features, comment those which are already existing, report bugs, try beta versions, etc.

The dev forum of Dexed is here:

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=5903996#p5903996

clou
clou
23 October 2014 at 6:02am

Sorry, I answered at the other forum now.

rootberg
rootberg
26 October 2014 at 8:23pm

Just wanted to say that the new GUI is amazing!!!! Thank you!!.

I love Dexed!!!.

layzer
layzer
1 November 2014 at 6:33am

brilliant! this thing sounds just like the real deal, now... if somone could just make a free D-50 emulation as good as this without getting sued!! lol.

tnkdesbois
tnkdesbois
1 November 2014 at 9:36am

That's the difference between emulating a synth based on unpattentable, uncopyrightable mathematical formulas and emulating a synth based on proprietary, copyrighted waveforms.

However you made a point here : Only Korg turned it's old flagships into VSTs (see the legacy series). Yamaha could have done it with their brilliant DX but... Digital Suburban did (and they had 15 years or so between the invention of the VST norm and the release of Dexed to do so !), and having set it as an free open source project is even greater.

It's a shame that while Roland used to own cakewalk software that they didn't do - atleast for their in-house daw Sonar - a D50 VST emulation.

Anyway, I never tought I'm gonna get a plugin - and especially a free / open source one ! - coming so close (read = being the exact equivalent) to the almighty FM emperor the DX7 was !

Congrats, Pascal ! (Digital Suburban).

opoo
opoo
2 November 2014 at 10:01pm

So I was working with dexed v8 a couple of hours and here is what I came up with:

much better, but still....
the six operator windows are still to cluttered. Increase the space between them and make more contrast to the background. Have background black for example.
Separate OP1-3 and OP4-6 with the lower parameters in the middle.That makes it more friendly.

when i work with FM I want to see all 16 algorythms to choose wichever I find appropriate. Dialing is distracting.
The way its on the DX7II is exactly how I like it. Yes it takes some space. But a great synth has a right for his space. Don't worry.

For me it was also always important to mute some operators, while working on the others. Best way for this would be to click and toggle on the operator in the algorythm grafic, which should change its color for on or off.
I also need to point out, that the DX7s had only a velcity range to 100. All this old original sounds have been designed under this.
Today all keyboards run up to the 127 real easy, which destroys the sounds many times. i used to use "velocitycurve" from Trombettworks to tame my keyboards. I suspect it would be a good idea to implement a "velocity tamer" in the app.
Another one: What happened to the Aftertouch ? No Aftertouch?...
Now sadly I myself never learned how to program, so I have no idea how much work my suggestion require. But I dare to mention all this because I have been working with the DX7s since it came out, you know when.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

tnkdesbois
tnkdesbois
5 November 2014 at 11:20am

A small Dexed video demo, made using v0.8 (the one with the new gui). Demonstrates a few patches (classic DX patches and newer pads) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSs1-020nNY

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
5 November 2014 at 2:31pm

Splendid demo!!! Superb.

misharit
misharit
20 November 2014 at 7:23pm

Dexed 0.8 under Reaper x64 on W10 (!) - flawless. And reads the zipped SYX batch like a charm (just a splendid idea - to parse ZIP contents and place them as separate banks, each corresponding to SYX file) - great job!!.

Bolanath
Bolanath
30 December 2014 at 1:31am

OOh! Nice new GUI! Thank you.

spankysimi
spankysimi
7 February 2015 at 1:04pm

I love the synth. I have a major problem though. I am not the best with computers. i managed to install it via juce and use it in ableton (on Mac). after doing a clean OS X install on my macbook i had to reinstall Juce and dexed. now i just can't remember what i did and can't seem to make it work. is there somewhere a manual as to how to do this? I love the synth and miss it.

robohymn
robohymn
19 March 2015 at 6:01pm

Fantastic plugin. Huge thanks to the developer, especially for version 0.8.0, amazing stuff. Hope he can find a way to commercialize it some day, I'd gladly pay average synth VST prices for this. Can't speak to how close it actually is to a real DX7, but it doesn't matter -- on its own it's a great, great synth.

novaflash
novaflash
29 April 2015 at 4:19am

Nice VST / Editor .

i use it since a few days to edit my TX-802, all seems works very well.

i only found two small problem when saving sysex :

- the num pad keys + and - in/decrease the prog. change into host (into the the save as box)

- the output level seems low vs other VST.

great job, thanks :)

dexed 0.80
Windows 7 pro 32-bits
Minihost (toby bear)

ecset
ecset
15 July 2015 at 10:26pm

Hi! I just need an Operation Manual for this amazing synth? Can you help me please?

opoo
opoo
16 July 2015 at 12:33pm

Dexed is an emulation of the Yamaha DX7 synth, so the best way to learn is to get the DX7 tutorials (youtube) and books. Its all about Frequency modulation.

Dave Benson's DX7 Page use to be a big dedicated webpage with lots of things about DX7. Lots of books, lots of links.

Tonda
Tonda
9 September 2015 at 11:30am

Hey Guys, sorry to bother but I just can't seem to install Dexed on my Mac (10.9.5). I can't find a way to open the files (just packages), I have installed Reaper. Maybe someone could give me a walkthrough ? Propably just a really basic problem — it seems that i really am the bottom of the barrel in understanding computers. Would be greatly appreciated if someone could help, i could give you my email so I don't annoy anyone here. Thanks in advance, T.

Teamjake
Teamjake
25 March 2016 at 8:29pm

Did you ever get to the bottom of this? I am in the same situation. Dexed looks fantastic but I can't work out how to get it running on my Mac (OS X 10.9.5). Thanks.

Teamjake
Teamjake
27 March 2016 at 9:06am

Ok figured it out now.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Izak Synthiemental
Izak Synthiemental
30 October 2015 at 9:17pm

Can someone point me to the original DX7 factory sounds as presets for Dexed?

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
19 January 2016 at 3:00pm

They are in my Dexed Cart. You will find it here at the chapter Cartridge Manager. My Dexed_Cart contains all the original Yamaha Sysex (and many others), all carefully sorted by folders to find them very easily. Follow the instructions written by the developper in the chapter Cartridge Manager to install it.

herr_dreier
herr_dreier
19 January 2016 at 10:06am

Dexed 0.9.1: AU validation fail in LogicPro 9.1.8 (MacOS 10.6.8). Can anyone confirm this?

feilertsen
feilertsen
21 January 2016 at 9:28am

Hi.

This plug-in is fantastic! Excellent sounding alternative to my dx7ii-fd when out of the studio, and for auditioning sounds.

I have a small request for the cart manager. Is it possible to display the name and location of the currently loaded SysEx file? I sometimes need to find out where I found a specific patch after I have closed and reopened the project, but the file-tree resets to the default location. If the "currently loaded cart" section displayed name and location it would be much easier to find the sound.

-Fred.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
21 January 2016 at 11:07am

Hi, .

Very good request! I invite you to rewrite it here to be sure that it will be read by all the other users to support your demand:

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=413885

BlackWinny.

clarkey
clarkey
10 March 2016 at 10:22am

Hi, .

I've had my DX7 since 1985 and have lost all my cartridges over the last 30 years! I really want to get this plug in working! Can anyone help? I'm running Logic Pro 9 on OS 10.6.8. I've put the VST and component in their respective folders in the library but when I run the AU manager in Logic Dexed always fails. What am I doing wrong?

Clarkey.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

herr_dreier
herr_dreier
10 March 2016 at 10:53am

The last working version with LP 9.1.8. and MacOS 10.6.8 is Dexed 0.9.0.

dreier.

clarkey
clarkey
10 March 2016 at 12:18pm

Thanks Dreier, any idea how I can hold of it - the download links always seem to direct me to 0.9.1.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

herr_dreier
herr_dreier
10 March 2016 at 12:59pm

http://le-son666.com/software/dexed/.

dreier.

clarkey
clarkey
10 March 2016 at 6:46pm

Thanks Dreier, the AU manger likes that one! Although now I can't find any reference to it in Logic itself! Any idea how I get to run it?

Mark Yurkovic
Mark Yurkovic
7 June 2016 at 12:23am

HELP!!.

I have Digital Performer 8. Dexed works fine in the program but on Mac there is no right click function. I couldn't find any video's showing me how to "send" a patch to my Volca FM....Can anyone HELP!!!.

Thanks.

Mark.

stardustmedia
stardustmedia
22 September 2016 at 7:40am

Thanks for the update... But the download links (both folders on top) of your page are broken.

bojanboyss
bojanboyss
22 September 2016 at 12:55pm

Until its fixed you can access download here: https://github.com/asb2m10/dexed/releases

Seems that in link should be just 0.9.2 (https://github.com/asb2m10/dexed/releases/download/0.9.2/dexed-0.9.2-win.zip) instead of v0.9.2 which is now and not working (https://github.com/asb2m10/dexed/releases/download/v0.9.2/dexed-0.9.2-win.zip). Same for Mac.

stardustmedia
stardustmedia
22 September 2016 at 5:25pm

thanks mate.

krismiller
krismiller
23 September 2016 at 12:29am

I apologize if this request has already been met, but I've had one hell of a time trying to find proper conversions of the famous "Lately Bass" & "Solid Bass" patches for Dexed. FM8 seems to convert them better, WAY BETTER. But I was under the impression Dexed performs maths more in line with what the original Yamaha units did. I've probably downloaded over a dozen factory SYX banks directly dumped off of DX100 & TX81Zs. I've converted all of them with DXconverter - which is a python script. Ive also converted them directly in FM8 - they sound tighter & more crisp for lack of a better term. When loaded in Dexed they sound flabby & Solid Bass sounds completely different... If someone can please point me to a 1:1 accurate Dexed compatible Lately Bass & Solid Bass patches I would be VERY grateful!!!.

feilertsen
feilertsen
23 September 2016 at 6:29am

If I'm not mistaken, the Solid Bass and Lately Bass are patches for the TX81z/Dx11. This synth uses 4 operators with multiple waveforms available for each operator. The dx7 however, which dexed is based on, uses 6 operators, all strictly sine waves.

FM8 has multiple waveforms so it is able to convert the patches. Dexed can not.

But there are a ton of bass patches for the dx7 out there which can be imported into Dexed, so you may be able to find an alternative..

- Fred.

frognerboy
frognerboy
19 January 2017 at 10:34am

Any possibility of downloading earlier version of Dexed, say 0.9.1 or even 0.9.0? I ask because I'm unable to open Dexed track with Ableton Live project made with earlier Dexed version.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Hans.

benedettodue
benedettodue
19 January 2017 at 11:59am

https://github.com/asb2m10/dexed/releases/ (0.9.1)

www.benis.it/varie/dexed-0.9.0-win.zip 0.9.0 : is on my web site www.benis.it :-)

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

frognerboy
frognerboy
28 January 2017 at 7:37pm

Found the patch I was looking for: "Plane 1". (I had to go back to the 24-bit engine resolution to make it sound right.)

However, I've still got the problem that all my Ableton projects which used a pre AU version of Dexed won't load the Dexed VST. I get the message "VST Dexed: The VST plugin could not be found". I've got the latest version of Dexed installed which works fine, both VST and AU.

Any tips would be very welcome indeed! I'd hate to think I've lost all my work :- (.

Thanks.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
28 January 2017 at 8:19pm

Hello, .

When it is to talk about issues of a plugin, the best is not at all among the discussions in the product page like the present one, but to relate the issue in the forums. Many instruments even have dedicated threads and sometimes even dedicated forums. And for Dexed there is a dedicated thread (running since 2014, the last post published two days ago) where you are ABSOLUTELY sure to meet almost all the users involved in the tests, among them of course the developer of the plugin. For Dexed it is here.

Free FM Synthesizer Dexed (VST Windows and Mac)

Discussions in the product pages of the KVR database are to talk about very minor problems (where to find it when it is hard to find, etc.) or to give quick feedbacks on the personal use (deeper feedbacks with gift of a note from 1 to 10 are to write in the tab "Review" at the top of the product pages, like this one for Dexed). Discussions about technical issues, suggestions of improvements, etc. should always be written in the forums to be sure to be read by all the very engaged users of the product. So, to be sure to have real answers (advanced or deep answers, and even discussions with other users having met the same problem for example and having solved it), use the link to the thread to write your issue.

frognerboy
frognerboy
28 January 2017 at 8:50pm

Thanks BlackWinny. Duly noted. I've just posted where you recommended... H.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

zmix
zmix
7 August 2017 at 10:54pm

It's a really well done emulation of the DX-7 in every respect, amazing really, even the quantization noise is exactly like the original.

I'm getting a lot of stuck noted when using the AU in Logic Pro X, and am unable to clear them, even loading a new patch keeps the old patch playing. The only workaround I've found is to unload and reload the plugin.

I have really only had these issues when in the "CART" mode, auditioning sysex patches and banks.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

eivindengedal
eivindengedal
13 August 2017 at 8:33pm

I knew Dexed was very close to my original DX7 mark1, but wondered how it would work in a mix. If anyone shares my wondering, take a listen to this: https://youtu.be/wbMzttE-jys

zmix
zmix
19 August 2017 at 1:20pm

When I compared some patches with my Yamaha TX-7 module I noticed that the Amplitude Modulation (Labeled "AMD") isn't working.

papwalker
papwalker
22 April 2018 at 2:12am

This thing is the bomb!!.

I downloaded the Arturia 'alleged' DX7 V. What a bloated piece of ...

400 MB of disk space, 279 MB of memory, 8 time slower to load.

I couldn't even set the ration properly (.995), after the level it's the first thing I do.

As far as DX 7 emulation is concerned, Dexed is orders of magnitude better in nearly every respect.

Please log in to join the discussion

 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
226 people have added Dexed to 29 My KVR groups 320 times
+24 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 10  10  10  3

30-Day: 11; 7-Day: 17; Yesterday: 26

Advertisements