Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Sonic Charge
  4. »
  5. Microtonic (µTonic)
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Microtonic (µTonic)

 My KVR
Drum Synth Plugin by Sonic Charge

Microtonic (µTonic) has an average user rating of 4.67 from 12 reviews

Rate & Review Microtonic (µTonic)

User Reviews by KVR Members for Microtonic (µTonic)

Reviewed By Tagirijus [read all by] on December 12th, 2020
Version reviewed: 3.3.1 on Windows.
Last edited by Tagirijus on 12th December 2020.

Already there (aka "Pro"):

  • extremely CPU friendly and fast loading.
  • easy and fast to set up in general.
  • good sounding.
  • almost endless (?) patterns online in the Patternarium.
  • minimalistic yet powerful.
  • scriptable things.
  • preset format is "open". So it seems to be some kind of JSON format, which is nice for geeks like me (-;
  • many parameters can be linked to MIDI CC#s.
  • easy and minimalistic, but useful preset system.
  • after 10 years (if I read correctly) the development seems not dead yet, I guess ... at least that's my assumption, since the last update was in april 2020. Still waiting for the dev to "verify" (-;

Could be there (aka "Cons", or better: "Feature wishes"):

  • some more sound noise types.
  • filter envelopes.
  • linking velocity to more parameters than just the three ones.
  • polyphonic mode in the "Pitched MIDI mode".
  • adjusting the decaying curves (especially for the pitch mod).

Really looking forward to the future of this plugin. (=.

Click here to read all 12 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Sonic Charge Microtonic (µTonic)

Discussion
Discussion: Active
rob_lee
rob_lee
27 May 2014 at 7:08pm

I picked up Microtonic a couple of months ago and use it in everything i do now. Can't believe i never purchased this one earlier. Everything about it is great. Its a really fun and great sounding drum synth. Top notch for House and Minimal beats among others. Probably one of the best purchases iv'e made for my needs. This ones a keeper. I'd love to see some extra features but as it stands right now it's just perfect.

Rob.

snigelx
snigelx
27 May 2014 at 9:09pm

You bet ya. It's a quick way to some really creative hits...and basses...and FX. It helped to teach me what a bass drum can be besides a beater in the front, a bump and sin wave slide. So much more is possible with this, esp with 96 or so semi modulation range on the pitch and the various modulation options in this section. Synthesis engine. That simple interface is very misleading because some of the controls are actually dependent on other controls' settings. Experimentation is the key with this one. There are great options for getting patterns to the grid in a DAW and there are some fantastic Scripts with the semi-new script engine that can be added to help workflow and other neat things. It's a fantastic tool indeed. Congrats on yr new acquisition, may it continue to provide fruits. Cheers.

Newk
Newk
2 August 2015 at 12:30am

I Love this drummachine! To be able to play the parts separately with keyboard in different pitches is an outstanding feature.

but..

Is it just me or did a DC-offset bug krept in on windows 7 when turning up the distortion? It was fine on XP.. tried it at a diffrent DAW and pc, but still the same bug.. DC-offset sucks. : (.

maybe i have some wrong settings in Win7? strange that i can't find anyone else posting on this matter.

Newk
Newk
2 August 2015 at 3:51am

turns out the DC-offset is also on XP ...maybe i didn't notice it before.. but its very obvious when turning distortion up and EQ-gain to the negative side (left)

nr1killabee
nr1killabee
11 March 2017 at 11:50am

And if you sucked it dry completely you can use the sequencer to trigger other instruments because it transmits MIDI out.

Please log in to join the discussion