Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Octaver OC-D2

Rate & Review Octaver OC-D2 Now!

Reviewed By GotMetalBoy [read all by] on 18th May 2019
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I've used the OC-D2 with REAPER and it has worked great. I use the mono version of the plugin and set the track in REAPER to mono. It can really thicken up single notes or get square wave synth sounds. It tracks single notes very well.

Any issues I've had, Chris, the developer of the plugin, either steered me in the right direction or made updates to the plugin very quickly. Chris is very knowledgeable and is able to speak in very technical terms or layman terms, so anyone can get the "lowdown" for what all the parameters do. The manual is also very helpful and explains where to install the plugin, so any DAW should be able to find it.

Reviewed By Carmelious [read all by] on 15th October 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Windows.
Last edited by newkulturstudios on 15th October 2017.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Sounds like a cool effect, will not bring down octave. Added octaves will be on left and source on right, why? Also, will probably only work on a single note because you have to manually adjust the freq.

**Solutions for these issues have been addressed below. Please read the next post.**

Latest 2 reviews from a total of 2

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

newkulturstudios
newkulturstudios
15 October 2017 at 5:55pm

Hello Carmelious,
Thanks for your interest. The reason you are encountering an issue with wet and dry signals being separated by channel is that the OC-D2 is a mono-channel plug-in. You should see any mono plug-ins operate the same way in your host program.
Despite my mention of this in the plug-in's description on this site and my own website, I have encountered a few people over the years that have still reported this as a "bug". Therefor I have now uploaded a dual-channel-interfaced version of the plug-in on the download file. Please uninstall the plug-in on your computer, download this new installer, and use the dual channel version instead. Your issue will be solved.

I am a bit confused when you say that the OC-D2 "will not bring down octave", but then go on to say that the "added octaves will be on left". Could you please expand on what you mean? Is it only sometimes generating the lower octave signal?

With regards to the last of your comments (single note operation), the OC-D2, just like the octave divider pedals that it is based off of, is a signal generator that bases its pitch from the incoming signal's fundamental frequency, which is determined through low-pass filtering and zero-crossing detection. It is for this reason that stereo and polyphonic material will not be detected accurately, and therefor not supported by this plug-in. It is intended for use on only 1 monophonic (single notes, no chords) instrument per instance. It is not intended, nor will it work accurately, for use with a stereo mix of instruments. When used with such intended source material, the user-adjustable low-pass filter should be sufficient to accurately detect pitch as well as or better than the hardware pedals the OC-D2 is based off of.

If you have any additional concerns or issues, please feel free to contact me directly (via the email address I have provided in the Read Me file) prior to posting on this site as a bug. I would be happy to assist!

-Chris Hooker.

Turello
Turello
6 May 2019 at 6:49pm

Please, get the latency to 0 ms... :-).

newkulturstudios
newkulturstudios
10 May 2019 at 1:34am

Hi Turello, thanks for your comment.

Short answer: Wish granted.

Long answer:
I had programmed a delay into the plug-in so that the dry signal would be in phase-alignment with the key signal and unfiltered Octave signals. (The key is phase-shifted by going through the input filter.) The OC-D2's delay is reported to host programs for compensation, so on playback the delay is corrected, but when monitoring on the input, it could not be avoided.

However, since the original analog octave-divider pedals exhibited phase-shifting anyway, plus any filtering on the Octaves on the OC-D2 adds additional phase-shifting, and input monitoring / hearing the effect while recording can be quite difficult with the delay, I think it's more important to have zero-latency... so I've taken out this delay and provided a Zero-Latency update.

Incidentally, this allowed me to remove the discrete steps on the Input LPF (on each of which, phase-shift delay times were calculated and compensated for), and I reverted the knob to a continuous control.

If the user wants phase-alignment on mixdown, they can use the OC-D2 on a duplicate track (at full wet), (optionally bounce/freeze the effect), then manually shift the clip to align with the original track, and blend to taste.

C.Ray
C.Ray
22 May 2019 at 7:13pm

Doesn't Flowstone allow you to make VST 's 64 compatible? Why not take advantages of that in 2019-2020?

newkulturstudios
newkulturstudios
23 May 2019 at 12:30am

Currently, Flowstone only supports 32-bit. The next version, which will support 64-bit, is in Beta-mode now.
When that is released as a final commercial version (all bugs worked out), I will update the OC-D2 ASAP.

Please log in to join the discussion

Octaver OC-D2

Average user rating of 3.50 from 2 reviews

Chris Hooker
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
16 people have added Octaver OC-D2 to 6 My KVR groups 20 times
+3 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 296  293

30-Day: 774; 7-Day: 867; Yesterday: 1357

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
What's New @ KVR Audio
The "NEW" Plugin Alliance?by Hink @ 18:53 in EffectsSynthMaster One v1.3 Alpha - Cloud Based Preset Sharing, New White Skin, better Microtuning/Scalesby Ficciones @ 18:52 in InstrumentsGreat vintage instruments that still deserves to be emulated ?by Krakatau @ 18:52 in InstrumentsVengeance Producer Suite - AVENGER - free 1.4.10 update with new featuresby Razzia @ 18:48 in InstrumentsAnyone Else Like Metal? Or Neofolk?by rob_lee @ 18:45 in Everything Else (Music related)WTB: Electra, Avenger, Trilian, Sonarworksby Sindikhate @ 18:44 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Which Mix is better?by bele @ 18:41 in Everything Else (Music related)Pitch/frequency shiftersby dangayle @ 18:41 in EffectsBitwig Studio 3 gets 10 out of 10 from MusicTech Reviewby xbitz @ 18:40 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)No More Excuses...Please Help A Wannabe Songwriterby Michael L @ 18:40 in Everything Else (Music related)Steinberg Spectralayersby thebutler @ 18:40 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)What are your top five favorite FX plugins that really helped you in your music production ..?by dangayle @ 18:36 in EffectsBargain Center: discussion, gossip, etc.by mgw38 @ 18:31 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Your fave MIDI fx, arp, mapper, mangler, generator, chorder, controller, utility. VST or MFXby David @ 18:30 in EffectsYou know you are a true KVR member when....by vurt @ 18:27 in Everything Else (Music related)View All Latest Posts
Advertisements