1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Vienna Symphonic Library (VSL)
  4. »
  5. Orchestral Strings II
  6. »
  7. Details

Orchestral Strings II

Strings / Orchestral Plugin by Vienna Symphonic Library (VSL)
€295 (Std. Library) / €295 (Ext. Library)
Orchestral Strings II
Orchestral Strings II by Vienna Symphonic Library (VSL) is a Virtual Instrument Audio Plugin for macOS and Windows. It functions as a VST Plugin, an Audio Units Plugin and an RTAS Plugin.
Copy Protection
Dongle (USB-eLicenser)
My KVR - Groups, Versions, & More
9 KVR members have added Orchestral Strings II to 6 My KVR groups 11 times.
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
+1 in private groups

KVR Rank

Overall: 17054   9709   13248

30-Day: 15232; 7-Day: 14072; Yesterday: 13822

Orchestral Strings II is part of the Symphonic Cube, which consists of ten "Vienna Instruments Collections". Orchestral Strings II features the following instruments:

  • Cello ensemble (8 players).
  • Bass ensemble (6 players).



  • Interval Performances: legato, portamento, staccato, tremolo.
  • Fast Interval Performances: legato, marcato, spiccato.
  • Performance Trills.
  • Interval Performances muted (con sordino): normal, portamento.
  • Repetition Performances: legato, portato, staccato, spiccato, harsh, upbeats, pizzicato.
  • Repetition Performances muted: legato, portato, staccato.
  • Runs: legato, spiccato; major, minor, chromatic, whole tone.

Single notes:

  • Short notes: short staccato, staccato, short détaché, long détaché, 4 variations each.
  • Long notes: sustains with and without vibrato, flautando.
  • Dynamics: various crescendos & diminuendos, with and without vibrato, fp, sfz, sffz, pfp.
  • Tremolos: sustains, crescendo & diminuendo.
  • Trills: half tone, whole tone, accelerando.
  • Pizzicatos (loose and tight) and Bartók pizzicatos.
  • Col legno.
  • Con sordino: staccato, détaché, sustained, crescendos & diminuendos, fortepiano, sforzato, tremolo, pizzicato, trills.
  • Sul ponticello: staccato, sustains, crescendos & diminuendos, sfz, tremolo.
  • Artificial harmonics: staccato, sustains.

The Vienna Instrument Engine:

  • Powerful proprietary streaming audio engine, developed by Vienna Symphonic Library's Christian Teuscher.
  • Up to 3,456 Articulations (Patches) on one MIDI channel.
  • RAM pre-load of up to 25,600 stereo samples (based on 1.6 GB available RAM under Windows; 48,000 samples on a 3 GB Mac G5).
  • 64 stereo voices per instance streaming from disk.
  • Extremely low load times (average 1 sec. per Patch) using pre-caching.
  • Lossless real-time de-compression for using less RAM and hard disk resources.
  • RAM Optimizer kicks unused samples out of RAM.
  • Pre-configured Patches.
  • Performance Detection algorithms integrated in Patches without the need to switch manually between articulations.
  • Trigger comprehensive sets of articulations using hardware controllers (MIDI learn), key switches, and speed, without ever leaving the current MIDI channel.
  • Layer Articulations for simultaneous or crossfade performances in one Preset.
  • Easily design your own Instruments using Drag & Drop.
  • Switch Velocity Crossfades and Release Control on/off on the fly.

Latest User Reviews

Average user rating of 0.00 from 0 reviews

Products similar to Orchestral Strings II...

Comments & Discussion for Vienna Symphonic Library (VSL) Orchestral Strings II

Discussion: Active

Please log in to join the discussion