Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Wolfgang Palm
  4. »
  5. Plex - Restructuring Synthesizer
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Plex - Restructuring Synthesizer

 My KVR
Restructuring Synth Plugin by Wolfgang Palm

Plex - Restructuring Synthesizer has an average user rating of 3.88 from 8 reviews

Rate & Review Plex - Restructuring Synthesizer

User Reviews by KVR Members for Plex - Restructuring Synthesizer

Reviewed By trip [read all by] on March 28th, 2006
Version reviewed: ? on Windows.
Last edited by trip on 28th March 2006.
After selling Plex here on kvr, i think it´s time for a review;-)

The´re several reasons why i sold it:

1. The basic sound is for me very nasal. The´re are indeed some very nice presets, but when i tried to programm some patches from scratch, the results were in most cases unsatisfying. maybe other programmers have more luck.;-)

2. What i dislike most is the ´top-partial-component´, it sounds just like dripping in the pan....
And that´s the biggest problem: the several sound-components don´t blend together as one (it´s like you combine at random a lowpass and a highpass-sound, in common terms). Many combinations are senseless i.m.h.o., especially the one which the marketslogans courted for (can´t remember, i think it was a piano and a flute??!) :-)

3. I missed a semitone-controller, you can only choose the octave. Furthermore the phasersound is very onesided.

Beside this the´re are still some pro´s:
- great gui
- great env and lfo-options
- good "live"-options

conclusion: the plex isn´t that bad. if you´re fond of the provided samples and the basic sound, plex will do a good job for you.

Click here to read all 8 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Wolfgang Palm Plex - Restructuring Synthesizer

Discussion
Discussion: Active
soma
soma
19 March 2013 at 3:22pm

Is there a manual available?

werp
werp
17 April 2013 at 2:59am

yes, look in the documents file and select your language. 52 pages in pdf format.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
28 October 2013 at 5:54pm

Full documentation in german, english... and french! Great.

Merci .

Merci .

Merci .

Wolfgang Palm was the owner of PPG and its chief designer. As far as I remember he made his first synthesizer in 1975 with the help of... Tangerine Dream! He is the creator of the digital wavetable oscillators that were used for the first time in the famous PPG Wave 2. When PPG ceased to exist (in 1987 if my memory doesn't fail) he continued his work with Waldorf, which is now reknowned for their fabulous synthesizers developed around his digital wavetable synthesis and used by many of the most famous musicians all around the world.

Notbob
Notbob
13 July 2017 at 4:13am

This is a very fun little synth. Just drag and drop the 3 waveforms into the various sounds and the parameters seem endless! Right click the mouse in a section for a drop down menu to add sounds to each section. Many presets to choose for starting points, too. This thing has kept me up late quite a few nights. Haven't even got to thinking about a manual yet. Very nice for a freebie.

brok landers
brok landers
21 October 2019 at 1:14pm

sadly it seems to be not available anymore. or at least i don't find any valid link....

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
21 October 2019 at 6:58pm

Hello friend .

There are several mirrors which are all still valid:

Cheers.

Jacques.

brok landers
brok landers
21 October 2019 at 9:57pm

oh, hey - thanks a lot.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
21 October 2019 at 10:21pm

It was my pleasure.

:-).

arakula
arakula
22 October 2019 at 7:38am

Hmmm, seems the web https://plex.hermannseib.com got lost in a recent server switch; it's up again now.

Please log in to join the discussion