Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Sonimus
  4. »
  5. SonEQ
  6. »
  7. Reviews

SonEQ

 My KVR
EQ Plugin by Sonimus

SonEQ has an average user rating of 4.25 from 4 reviews

Rate & Review SonEQ

User Reviews by KVR Members for SonEQ

Reviewed By Drytowel [read all by] on February 15th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac.
Last edited by Drytowel on 15th February 2021.

Crazy free plugin, I really enjoy using this one, it's a kind of Pultec eQ, generous bass and lovely trebbles .

Also working with apple silicon M1 macs.

Click here to read all 4 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Sonimus SonEQ

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Brother Charles
Brother Charles
23 April 2013 at 3:18am

Thanks fese - great little review. SonEQ is one of my favorites too! It really is "something special" on vocal tracks. I often use SonEQ on my own vocal tracks and then apply any little surgical operations with IIEQ Pro. Well, that might be a changing "dynamic". .. "dynamic" because I'm so impressed with Melda's MDYnamic & MAUtoDynamic EQs.

fese
fese
28 April 2013 at 2:29pm

Charles, thank you for your kind words - as English isn't my first language, it takes some time and effort to write just a few paragraphs, and it's nice to see it's appreciated :).

I haven't checked out Sonimus' other stuff yet, but given the quality of this one I'm pretty sure I'm going to buy Sweetone one day, at $25 it's a no-brainer. Also, love the GUI.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
26 March 2018 at 5:35pm

It is not only 32-bit. It is also 64-bit, VST2, VST3, and AAX.

And RTAS in 32-bit.

For OS X, it is VST and AU.

Demo here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2Wqvp20K_8

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
13 November 2019 at 12:55pm

Yesterday I re-discovered this great eq. I tried it on a snare and just couldn't believe what a huge difference it made.

I would like to use this topic to ask a question. Can anyone check, if their SonEQFree VST3 version allows numerical input after right-clicking on the knob e.g. BOOST or GAIN ? VST2 has that functionality, but for some reason VST3 doesn't allow it. When I right-click nothing happens. I'm using the latest 1.2.1 release x64. I'm on Windows 8.1 x64.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
13 November 2019 at 2:45pm

I confirm. The readouts pop-up on VST2, not on VST3.

I just opened a ticket to report that bug.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
13 November 2019 at 3:07pm

Thanks a lot BlackWinny.

I emailed developer about it earlier today. So far no response. I just asked a question if that's the proper behaviour. You had better idea about reporting it as a bug. Perhaps something can be done about it. I figured that since last update was in November 2016 and plugin is free, there is very small chance he is willing to check it out.

By the way I have no idea why there is March 2018 mentioned as release date for latest version 1.2 on this website. My plugin has a date 20161123, both VST2 and VST3.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
15 November 2019 at 6:16pm

"By the way I have no idea why there is March 2018 mentioned as release date for latest version 1.2 on this website. My plugin has a date 20161123, both VST2 and VST3."

Same for my copy.

They replied to my ticket, kindly. To get some additional info. So I sent these additional info two hours ago. I'll probably get a new reply tomorrow. We'll see. But I'm pretty confident for a next update with that bug fixed.

:).

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

michal.ochedowski
michal.ochedowski
16 November 2019 at 4:44am

I also received an answer from Sonimus yesterday. There is something in the works regarding VST3 support for the 2020 update. Luckily it's not a huge inconvenience and SonEQ can still be used without any glitches.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
16 November 2019 at 1:44pm

So let's wait and see... The issue with the readouts on VST3 will probably be addressed at the latest in the 2020 update.

:).

Please log in to join the discussion