Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Jeff McClintock
  4. »
  5. SynthEdit
  6. »
  7. Reviews

SynthEdit

Modular Environment Plugin by Jeff McClintock
MyKVRFAVORITE59WANT19
$114.99

SynthEdit has an average user rating of 4.33 from 3 reviews

Rate & Review SynthEdit

User Reviews by KVR Members for SynthEdit

SynthEdit

Reviewed By elena2 [all]
July 7th, 2024
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows

Synthedit has a huge potential. If you accept all its storic bugs and limitations, you can do unbelievable things with it.

The only major drawback with it is the scarce support you get from its author. Despite being a commercial product (very honest price and policy without burdens I must say), the author always manifested little to no intentions to fix well known bugs or to introduce important missing features which have been reported and requested since its infancy; rather, he seems more motivated to pursuit his personal goals, ignoring completely users' bug reports and requests. Also, more than often he fails to interact properly, both in PM and in the support newsgroup, making users' lives a real nightmare and often challenging their patience badly causing frustration.

Therefore, if you are gifted with the patience of a saint, better if you are also a coder, Synthedit will be a gold mine for you. Otherwise, you should rather look elsewhere.

So, 5 stars for its potential, 0 for user support.

Read Review

Click here to read all 3 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Jeff McClintock SynthEdit

Discussion
Discussion: Active
jeejeestudio
jeejeestudio
15 March 2013 at 12:15pm

any news on a new version?

wikter
wikter
21 September 2014 at 6:03pm

Yes, the prize is now 80€ (VAT included)

placemat
placemat
5 October 2014 at 10:07pm

If I sample say an old sound module, could I then create a VST version with synthedit using the WAV files?

and also could I create my own GUI from a photo edited in Photoshop? I've registered on the synthedit page, but it won't allow me to ask questions for some mad reason! Any help would be gratefully received.

jobromedia
jobromedia
6 October 2014 at 4:39am

Good luck with that! You could, but then that company's lawyers would shut you down really good. Look up Grok 02SM, and you'll understand. This synth where up on the Internet for less than a month, most likely just a week or so until Korg's lawyers shut down that project.Christof Bircher got a cease and desist letter that litterally forced his hands to remove it on his own, or he would have to fork out a huge bill for a lawyer, that would cost him even more money. It doesn't matter how good you think your plugin is. Infringement is always infringement..

placemat
placemat
8 October 2014 at 9:40am

Hi, .

it understand where you are coming from, but this would be just a personal thing. I wouldn't be interested in selling it. I haven't used this program before & I'm very interested in doing so as I think it would benefit me greatly, but there seems to be no support on the website nor is there anything on YouTube to help with using samples. If I wanted to create a synth, there are plenty of tutorials.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

wikter
wikter
7 October 2014 at 6:26pm

Well... Just make some small tweaks to those sounds and avoid names like Dnalor o Ahamay. Just put those multisamples in something like a soundfont and create your own interface based on anything but a photo of that piece of hardware. The more popular it became, the more exposure to law conflicts.

wikter
wikter
7 October 2014 at 6:26pm

Well... Just make some small tweaks to those sounds and avoid names like Dnalor o Ahamay. Just put those multisamples in something like a soundfont and create your own interface based on anything but a photo of that piece of hardware. The more popular it became, the more exposure to law conflicts.

placemat
placemat
8 October 2014 at 9:43am

Hello, thanks for the help. So are you saying I have to use sound fonts to create the synth and not the WAV files? Pardon my ignorance, but I'm trying to get my head around it! If there was a complete manual I could get, that would be awesome!:-)

magicmusic
magicmusic
10 October 2014 at 9:09am

about of use of old synths and samples from them. I have hear, it is possible to offer VST legal from old soundmodule, when there is no copyright notice that forbid to use the sounds in a Synthesizer VST for this soundmodule attach on buy.

and on old sound modules before VST area no such copyright information was add. So you have the rights to use the sounds everywhere. a later change for old is not possible, because your rights that you can do with something you buy before connot reduce later. this sound logic to me.

magicmusic
magicmusic
10 October 2014 at 9:13am

I also like know, if there come a final version of 64-bit synthedit. that synthedit 64-bit only support VST3 is a limit, currently, but i guess sooner or later all support VST 3 in 64-bit.

Please log in to join the discussion