Product Reviews
by KVR Members

All reviews by Nobdi

Review Something
or Find Reviews
HoRNet Harmonics [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Nobdi [read all by] on 17th November 2019
Version reviewed: 1? on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I does do what it says.

At first I thought Ghost Dog was right in that it doesn't add more than 2-4 harmonics but when I tested it thoroughly with a sine wave it showed a lot more.

Test scenario was melda sine wave generator, voxengo span pro, cubase 9.5, win10 pro. - I have to say though that you need to send quite a volume into it (!) otherwise it just produces the 2-4 harmonics.

So just 4 stars from me. The volume thing could have been described somewhere.

ToneLib GFX [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Nobdi [read all by] on 7th April 2019
Version reviewed: 3.9.7 on Windows.
Last edited by Nobdi on 6th October 2019.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The ampsim is payware now - $40 !!.

All the info I had in my old 4 star review is still valid but for a $40 sim it would have to deliver quite a bit more for that rating.

At $40 I can only rate it at 2-3 stars because there are a lot of options out there with way better dynamics, better IR handling and a better GUI in general.

Sorry, but no cigar .

...below is my (4 star) rating for when the thing was still free:

"2 five star ratings by users that are only here for less than a month ?!? - fishy :-).

...anyway...

The software itself is very good. Especially when you take the (current ?) price into account - zero/nothing/nada.

It is very easy to dial in a good sound and whoever needs a manual or instruction how to use it has never seen a amp sim before (or maybe not even a computer).

I have only played around with it for about an hour and so far I can't really say anything about stability but the rest looks like this:

Pros:

- very easy to dial in sounds
- good amount of good presets
- easy on the CPU and very fast loading times
- quite a few FX and amps to chose from
- realistic sound.

Cons:

- maybe not the most dynamic reaction to your playing
- no 5150 sim (sorry, but that is one I always love to have)
- not too many bass amps/cabs (1 each ???)
- no way to set the amount of oversampling (and no info on that at all)
-> all in all not really much that you could argue about in a free sim;-).

...after an hour of playing around with it it has replaced my goto practising sim (Audified ampLion (payed version)) and might even end up as my goto sim for composing because of the perfectly fast loading time (to be replaced than later in the process by a more sophisticated sim).

To sum it up: For a free sim this one is clearly at least a 4 (add the 5150 model and I have it at 4.5-5;-))."

Halls of Fame 3 - Free [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Nobdi [read all by] on 24th July 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

No, I didn't like the way they handle their registration and installation either but it is by far not as complicated and "impossible" as the other review suggests.

You install the software and download the free presets, open the folder and find installation/registration instructions (in English+German) inside and just follow the steps.

What you get for it is a set of 26 reverb presets that show the characteristics of the full software and that you can tweak to your liking. The sound quality is pretty impressive, for the reverbs I know pretty close to how they sound and the CPU load is low for reverbs of that quality.

Overall a nice thing to have (and it's free;-)).

Tri-Comp Multiband Compressor [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Nobdi [read all by] on 24th February 2018
Version reviewed: latest on Windows
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

"Tri-Comp has been tested and works in Cubase, ..." ?!? - No, it doesn't. - Not in the latest version.

Cubase doesn't support 32-bit plugins any more and this one as afaik the rest of the manufacturers plugins is (are) pure 32-bit ! No 64-bit version what-so-ever .

For me that is a reason to rate it 1 oo 5 ! - Hey, it's 2018 !!.

(yes, I know that you could use a bridging plugin but w/o it it won't work and you can't even guarantee that it works w/o issues when you use the bridge...)

NadIR [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Nobdi [read all by] on 6th July 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This has been my go-to IR loader for guitar and bass tracks for a long time.

Reasons for that are:

- 64-bit - which most of the other IR loaders haven't been when I checked back in the days.

- super easy to set up.

- mixing 2 IRs is possible/easy and very usefull.

- the 2 slots make comparing IRs very easy and fast.

The only reason that I'm no longer using it is that I downloaded the free "Pulse" from Rosen Digital. It's essentially the same plugin (has been created by Ignite Amps for Rosen) and in addition has a free Rosen Pulse cab IR build in for when you just need a quick test.

AutoTonic - Modal MIDI Transposer [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Nobdi [read all by] on 7th February 2017
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by AutoTonic on 3rd May 2017.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

"AutoTonic ...goes far beyond, acting like a 'new instrument' ..."

Ok, that's the advertisement - now what does it do ?

Essentially it is a MIDI mapper and ... errr ... that's it! It's a MIDI mapper.

So what is the difference between the $179,- AutoTonic and the free Cales or the $50,- Autotheory?

The one thing you can't do with the others is mapping non-diatonic scales to the white keys of your keyboard w/o having "empty" keys in between octaves.

Meaning 3 things:

1) you can play every white key you want and it will always output a sound that belongs to your scale (...which is good ?!?)

2) it's the only program that can assign >7-note scales to the keyboard (...which is unique)

3) apart from the 1st root key on the middle c you don't have the slightest idea on which white key the rest of your scales root notes (the octaves) have ended up and most of your playing is just random. You can of course get that info by checking the display but if you change keys from - let's say - a pentatonic (5 notes) to a 6-tone scale everything on the keyboard changes again and you have to re-learn the keyboard again to play at least a bit fluently.

So ... does it work as advertised? - Yes. And that is what my rating is based on (just in case you wondered ;-)).

Which would be the end of the review IF it wouldn't have the $180,- price tag on it.

Seriously, you take the MIDI value coming from the input, change it to a MIDI value you have stored in a data base, send the new MIDI value to the output, add a fancy GUI to change the values in the database and that's it.

Charging 180,- for it and not even providing the (Windows) customer with a virtual MIDI driver that is essential (!!!) to make your program work is ridiculous.

And to then tell your paying customer to go to Google and search for a free virtual MIDI driver on the net to make YOUR software - that the customer has PAYED 180,- for - work so that you don't have to spend either time to develop a driver or pay the developer of the driver for using it is just plain shameless.

Summary:

If you need more-than-7-note-scales mapped to your keyboard (and you don't want to program them by yourself in your DAW) go and spend the 180,- on AutoTonic - there is no alternative (that I know of) out there.

And may I suggest: Send the developer of the needed virtual MIDI driver some money as well ;-).