1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by Fraggle

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By Fraggle [read all by] on 29th April 2021
Version reviewed: 2 on Mac.
Last edited by Fraggle on 29th April 2021.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I tried downloading the trial version and it wouldn't install, despite the website saying Loom 2 was compatible with Mac OS Big Sur.... looks like a great product, but I won't spend $100 then find I can't install it !!! I tried downloading the trial version and it wouldn't install, despite the website saying Loom 2 was compatible with Mac OS Big Sur.... looks like a great product, but I won't spend $100 then find I can't install it !!!I tried downloading the trial version and it wouldn't install, despite the website saying Loom 2 was compatible with Mac OS Big Sur.... looks like a great product, but I won't spend $100 then find I can't install it !!.

Reviewed By Fraggle [read all by] on 29th April 2021
Version reviewed: 2 on Mac.
Last edited by Fraggle on 29th April 2021.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I tried to install the demo for Loom 2 but it is not compatible with my OS, DESPITE the company saying it was now compatible with Mac Big Sur.....I was really interested in this synth, but if I can't install the demo I won't pay $99 and risk the same.

Reviewed By Fraggle [read all by] on 26th April 2021
Version reviewed: 3 on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

When pigments was released I was doing all my work on Serum, and at the time, I didn't see that Pigments offered me anything I couldn't do on Serum.

That was a few years ago.

When I saw the $100 offer for the 3rd iteration of Pigments, it was a 'no brainer'.

In the last 10 years I have mainly worked with Serum, Zebra 2 and (more recently) PhasePlant. I have tried out many other synths like Ana2, Iris 2, Absynth 5 (back in the day), Avenger, Spire etc etc... but no synths hold a candle to Serum or Phase plant (I haven't used zebra 2 for about a year).

Pigments 3 sounds as breathtaking as Serum did when I first heard it many years ago. Pigments 3 is now my 'go to' synth for all styles of sound design.

Within a fraction of the time it took me to learn PP I have been able to get a genuinely 'new' feel to my patches with Pigments 3.

My expectations were that it would be as good as the other $200 synths, but I think it is significantly better, and could reasonably be priced at the $250 point. So, get it while it is at $100 and it will be the best value for money you spend on a soft synth for a very long time.

Very very satisfied customer (wish I could say that more often about other products and services)....

highly recommended.

Reviewed By Fraggle [read all by] on 23rd July 2020
Version reviewed: 1.8.5 on Mac.
Last edited by Fraggle on 1st February 2021.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

About 6 months ago I gave it 3 stars and a long review.

I have been using it for the last 6 weeks and my mind has changed so much I decided to delete the old review and give it 5 stars.

I have dabbled with many synths, but only deeply learned Serum and Zebra 2, and now Phase Plant.

I use Phase plant for fun, as a hobby, I am not selling my patches or music. Thus, I cannot say if it is better or worse for genres of music.

What I can say though is that now I don't use Serum or Zebra 2, because I can do anything I want on this thing.

I got some money so bought ALL the Kilohearts products - at first I thought it was not value for money, but now I know it is, more so, given that all the phase plant FX units can be used externally in your DAW - try Multipass on different channels in your mixer...it's very very good.

The only FX it doesn't have is a granulator, but you can get grain effects by modulating loop points and offset points in the sampler. I have a granulator synth but I have not felt the need to use it. The lack of a true arpeggiator is not missed because I use Cthulhu if I want powerful arpegiation and the pahaseplant LFOs are lovely for making arpeggiator patterns as an alternative (but more limiting) approach to arpeggiation.

I use one instance of phase plant on a MacBook Air 2015 8MB 1.6 Ghz i5.......if I use the POLY function then it is very CPU heavy for my small machine, but for what I do, I cannot hear the benefit of that feature, so it's not stopped me loving this synthesizer.

Well Done Kilohearts.