Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by Faydit

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on June 19th, 2022
Version reviewed: MK 2 on Windows

Nice, very flexible overdrive/distortion plugin, especially if compared with the "army" of already existing green, black or orange colored pedal simulations.

Useful for some more and widely individually customizable overdrive to distortion sounds.

The Pro version seems to be intended rather for tweakers, looking for their own sounds, as not every setting automatically sounds right or great, but, if properly adjusted, the plugin can really sound very good.

A lot of useful features like adjustable input hp filter, just to name a single one.

Morphing between the different basic voicings works fine, also the blending of the different clipping modes.

Also works well in front of a tube amp plugin (for guitar), but not only, I also tested it with a Taurus, Arp and Hammond plugin and got some convincingly fresh and different sounding results.

Good but not perfect, the tube mode for example offers 8 gain stages, which - in my opinion do not really behave or sound like a real tube preamp with 8 (or less) gain stages. Unfortunately I also miss a little of a tube typical warmth, sweetness and breakup. Good, but generally a little to thin and harsh sounding tube tones for my taste. On the other hand a really good harmonics reproduction, especially in front of another tube amp plugin.

I personally would have liked some more fine tuning options for the tube mode, as it offers much more options to get very different results (activatable cathode bypass capacitors, different cathode resistor values (hot bias, cold bias) different plate resistor values, ...). The lead mode, which I suppose, is or should be a hard clipping circuit also could need some adjustment options, as also the sonic results of hard clipping can vary a lot, depending on different forward voltage, positioning within a circuit, it can work as a typical fuzz but also can only add some fresh bite and a lot in between.

For the clipping section an additional, individually adjustable forward voltage control (0.25 - 3.3 V should work fine (also for the lead mode)) could make this section perfect, as this parameter affects the clipping results more than everything else in my opinion. In reality you have to use the values of existing diodes, but in the digital world you also can exceed these limitations easily.

Nevertheless really recommended, if you look for a plugin, which allows you to shape your own overdrive or distortion sound very individually.

Considering the price, you get a lot of options for the money. Maybe you will not like all of them, but you certainly can find some useful and good sounding ones.

I think, the plugin still can be improved sonically a little and concerning some additional options. Therefore I wanted to give 4 stars, but on the other hand the basic concept is a nice, fresh, creative idea, which differs this plugin from a lot of others, therefore - despite of some personal additional wishes - 5 stars.

Nice, very flexible overdrive/distortion plugin, especially if compared with the "army" of already existing green, black or orange colored pedal simulations.

Useful for some more and widely individually customizable overdrive to distortion sounds.

The Pro version seems to be intended rather for tweakers, looking for their own sounds, as not every setting automatically sounds right or great, but, if properly adjusted, the plugin can really sound very good.

A lot of useful features like adjustable input hp filter, just to name a single one.

Morphing between the different basic voicings works fine, also the blending of the different clipping modes.

Also works well in front of a tube amp plugin (for guitar), but not only, I also tested it with a Taurus, Arp and Hammond plugin and got some convincingly fresh and different sounding results.

Good but not perfect, the tube mode for example offers 8 gain stages, which - in my opinion do not really behave or sound like a real tube preamp with 8 (or less) gain stages. Unfortunately I also miss a little of a tube typical warmth, sweetness and breakup. Good, but generally a little to thin and harsh sounding tube tones for my taste. On the other hand a really good harmonics reproduction, especially in front of another tube amp plugin.

I personally would have liked some more fine tuning options for the tube mode, as it offers much more options to get very different results (activatable cathode bypass capacitors, different cathode resistor values (hot bias, cold bias) different plate resistor values, ...). The lead mode, which I suppose, is or should be a hard clipping circuit also could need some adjustment options, as also the sonic results of hard clipping can vary a lot, depending on different forward voltage, positioning within a circuit, it can work as a typical fuzz but also can only add some fresh bite and a lot in between.

For the clipping section an additional, individually adjustable forward voltage control (0.25 - 3.3 V should work fine) could make this section perfect, as this parameter affects the clipping results more than everything else in my opinion. In reality you have to use the values of existing diodes, but in the digital world you also can exceed these limitations easily.

Nevertheless really recommended, if you look for a plugin, which allows you to shape your own overdrive or distortion sound very individually.

Considering the price, you get a lot of options for the money. Maybe you will not like all of them, but you certainly can find some useful and good sounding ones.

I think, the plugin still can be improved sonically a little and concerning some additional options. Therefore I wanted to give 4 stars, but on the other hand the basic concept is a nice, fresh, creative idea, which differs this plugin from a lot of others, therefore - despite of some personal additional wishes - 5 stars.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on June 13th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by Faydit on 13th June 2022.

The Nembrini plugin version of this legendary amp the first one, which gave me - after having learned how to tame this "beast" and adjust it properly - a convincing impression, why an ODS really is so legendary.

Some sort of Blackface on Steroids, I would say.

After having tested the plugin, I first was a little disappointed, until I found out that this plugin is not the sort of "You press the button(s), we do the rest!" plugin, some controls need to be adjusted properly, but if you do it, you can get a lot of really excellent, also very differently sounding tones.

My PAF-Humbuckers obviously already had been too hot for the default setting, so I had to reduce Input and Output a lot, so that the signal levels did not start to distort. Concerning these controls here less definitely seems to be more, but afterwards the "sonic sun" was starting to rise.

The basic tones are very American / Fender voiced, nice, very transparent, open, fresh, dynamically reacting tones with really a lot of treble, but also enough mids and bass, if you need them.

I personally found a proper treble adjustment essential for really good tones, as the amp can offer more treble reserves than you most probably will ever need. Also the microphone, speaker, cabinet selection affects the tone - in my impression - much more than usual.

The Overdrive itself sounds nicely harmonious, American voiced, but - depending on the individual gain and tone settings you can change this basic character also to a more dirty, rougher sounding one, even more if you deactivate the tone stack. Nevertheless you will not completely reach this typical British brutality and aggressive tone, also because of the existing mid-scoop, but you can come a little closer.

What makes the difference to a lot of other amps are the incredibly intense, vivid harmonics, which here have their own, unique character, different to the harmonics from modern high-gain amps or Marshalls, the overdrive is a typical, but intensely beefed up vintage overdrive with a sweet and at the same time really biting tone, intense treble and a lot of sustain, but without ever sounding too flat or over-compressed, quite the opposite.

The clean sounds are equally good (of course), also very flexible adjustable, the Clean channel alone is capable of producing a nice vintage overdrive, so you also can not only adjust a good clean but also alternatively an excellent crunchy rhythm sound and a more intense overdrive lead sound and do the rest with guitar volume. The possible combinations of Volume (first gain stage) and Lead (second gain stage) allow a lot of different tones.

Certainly not the perfect amp for modern Metal or really heavy stuff, but most probably for almost everything else. For me the typical SRV, Carlton, Ritenour, Ford, Sayce tone, which even alone sounds great, without any additional pedals or reverb.

Interesting speaker/cabinet selection. For me the 15" Faceman / JBL became the best choice, buat also the Vox / Fane combinations sounds very good, only completely different. If using external IR's, I found that alnico Creams or Rubys as well as Creambacks do a good job, but also an ET65 or ET90 harmonize well with this amp / plugin, maybe even better than Celestions, as they add some nice, decent compression and sweeten treble a little.

For me personally most probably the most convincingly sounding and working simulation of this legendary amp.

But - it needs more proper adjustment, especially concerning Treble, Presence, Input and Output, as much as the right cabinet/speaker/microphone combination, to find the really great sounding sweet spots.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on June 9th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.2.2 on Windows

I usually only use tape echoes as I do not like the tones of modern delay units very much.

So I was very positively surprised about the tones which this delay is capable of. All the different features not only allow good, flexible modern delay sounds but also really convincing vintage delay to echo tones, which you additionally can refine with Grit or Smear, so I was capable of recreating some nice vintage echoes with the advantage of some more additional features like the modulation, ducking and filter sections, if necessary.

The only things I miss are more detailed informations about the different patterns of the pattern control in the manual.

Would be helpful in maybe the next upgrade.

Nevertheless one of the most flexible and best sounding delays, which I know. Highly recommmended.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on May 29th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

Excellently sounding recreation of one of the most unique and iconic synthesizers even, in my opinion.

I also know some other plugins which are based on this instrument, some also with some more features, but in comparison I personally find the Lowdown the one with the most authentic, most convincing sound.

Only a few, but very effective controls, so the unit is sonically more flexible than it looks at first glance.

I only have a single wish for a future upgrade, an additional waveform selector for both oscillators, as some other simulations already have it. Even if this may not be absolutely authentic, it increases the sonic flexibility a lot.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on May 25th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Not only for the quality comparably cheap and also sonically very flexible spring reverb plugin.

I know some good sounding sping reverb plugins bujt even more not really convincingly sounding ones, at least for me. For some time therefore I preferred using convolution reverb solutions, if it came to spring reverb, but these ones also have some limitations, especially concerning the recording quality of these files, which can differ a lot.

The Hornet SpringVerb seems to sound very good, it can be adjusted very individually and even some more extreme settings seem to sound really convincing, nice natural, organic tones, simple, but effective GUI and controls, selecting the number of springs (1,2,3) alone changes a lot but not only, you can easily adjust some small, decent spring reverb as well as large, dense and intense ones and a lot in between.

Some presets would have been fine.

Nevertheless five stars for the sound quality and flexibility. Good work.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on May 19th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

Nice tube warmer, sounds good. Unfortunately it - even at higher drive settings - still remains very clean, so it is hardly usable as some sort of tube overdrive, not even if you stack some instances.
But the clean tube sound is really good, also in front of another tube amp or tube preamp.
For adding tube character to some digital sources it works fine, also as a clean guitar tube (pre)amp or booster.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on May 6th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

I do not see - or hear - any cutting edge development, sorry.

First I do not see any sense in a convolution reverb with some fixed IR's, which cannot be replaced by other individual ones from within the plugin, second I do not see any modifying options, not even a simple hp and lp filter, much less other controls apart for the mix knob, third after some seconds always audio processing stops, especially if selecting another IR and cannot be activated again or the pugin not only crashes my DAW but also my soundcard, so that I have to restart my whole system. (My Intel i7 hexcore from 2021 should not be the problem, I think.).

Tried it several times, always the same result. Fourth, the built in IR's don't even sound very good in my opinion.

There are a lot of much more flexible and also much more reliable working convolution reverb plugins available, which do what they promise.

Maybe you better change your marketing proposal to "the fastest crashing convolution reverb". Just an idea which at least comes closer to reality in my opinion.

Even for a 0.95 pre-relase disappointing. 0,95 for me means, that all basic functions work flawlessly, but maybe some minor bugs still occur. So this for me rather is a 0.1 "sketch", certainly not ready for release.

I also do not mind very much, if a plugin is CPU or GPU based. If it does not work as it should, it simply is a fail.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on May 6th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

I really was curious about this release.

I already have some tube simulation plugins and as a guitarist of course a lot of tube amp plugins, but I never have been a big fan of tubeless overdrive/distortion pedals in front of a tube amp. Nevertheless sometimes one or more additional tube gain stages are a good and useful idea - in my opinion - for optimizing tone.

Also sometimes a simple, but authentic sounding tube preamp tone is what I'm looking for.

The TaraTube seems to do a good job for these purposes.

The basic sound (1-3 gain stages) reminds me in a very positive and naturally sounding way of a typical Tweed amp preamp, nice sparkling treble, good bass and a really authentic tube tone with also good dynamic reaction.

Adding more gain stages thickens things up a little more, which also results - in combination with an electric guitar - in the typical unfiltered vintage amp bass overdrive, which sometimes can already sound a little bit too loose and maybe a little bit too fuzzy, but this problem you also have with any unfiltered real tube (pre)amp circuit.

Nevertheless one of the most naturally sounding tube tones, which I know from a plugin like this.

Reducing bass to make the plugin a little bit more compatible as tube overdrive is easy, all you have to do is to add an equalizer or even a simple hp-filter and reduce the bass frequencies somewhere in between 70 - 160 Hz.

This improvement "plexifies" the tone a little so that also more gain stages and more overdrive will sound more convincing - in my opinion.

If I use or build a real preamp tube circuit, I also easily get some typical tube compression, if I stack at least 3 or 4 stages, which results in noticeably more sustain and compression, which I miss here a little, if I add some more gain stages. On the other hand here the tone - even with more gain stages - remains very naturally and dynamically.

I suppose the gain stage simulation is a simple and rather neutral one without any cathode bypass capacitor and comparably low plate resistor. Maybe a switchable hotter alternative would be a nice idea for an future version.

But at least an additional hp filter would be the more important improvement in my opinion, maybe also a lp filter for reducing some of the very high frequencies, if not a complete tone stack.

But this is just an idea for a future upgrade maybe and complaining at a very high level.

Also of course does a good job for adding some very good tube character to all sorts of other instruments or even to vocals.

If you need an authentic, excellent and very naturally sounding all-round tube tone for almost every purpose, this plugin is in my opinion a great choice, even better sounding and working than some comparable commercial alternatives, which I know.

Good work! Thank you for offering such a gem as freeware.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on May 2nd, 2022
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

In general, good, natural sounds, but in some aspects unusual controls. A manual would have been more helpful than a boring, amateurish demo video alone.

The reverbs sound good, work fine, also delay and phaser, unfortunately I cannot say the same about chorus.
With width at zero activated chorus reduces output level drastically, but chorus more or less sounds like a chorus should. But if you turn on width, you immediately get an increased output level, combined with a lot of metallic, synthetic noise, which to me sounds like a combination of ring modulator and comb filter, but hardly has anything to do with my idea of a chorus, rather damages the whole sound in my opinion.
Widening for me is something different. A good sounding chorus even more.

Therefore the chorus section needs an upgrade, as it is, it is more or less unusable in my opinion, which is a pity, as the rest of the plugin really sounds convincing, also the flexible eq is a good idea.

Adjustable delay time in milliseconds is missing, a manual, which gives more precise infomations about some functions and also an option to choose between m/s and l/r would be fine, I think.

A trial/demo version also would have been a good idea. Even more, as this meanwhile - just like a manual - should be anyway self-evident for a new plugin.

Could be an excellent plugin with some improvements, I hope they will follow soon.

One point deduction for the chorus, another one for the missing manual and demo version.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on April 28th, 2022
Version reviewed: 2.8.1.0 on Windows

At first glance interesting, at second boring.

In principle a very simple synthesizer, combined with a handful of nature tone samples, which can be mixed with the synthesizer tones.

The samples are nor even "playable" nor editable, which means, they always sound the same, independent of the keys you use. All you can do is to adjust the mixing level.

Amateurish concept in a nice GUI, but nothing innovative nor outstanding. Synthesizer tones are not bad, but also far away from being in ayn way unique or top notch.

Rather some sort of "my first synthesizer" toy for kids in my opinion.

Connecting the past with the future: An interview with Michelle Moog-KoussaWhen the going gets tough, the tough get going: An interview with PSPaudioware co-founder Mateusz WozniakExpressing yourself with sound: An Interview with ROLI Sound Designer Rafael SzabanTrevor Rabin - Harmony of mind and spirit, analog, and digitalPutting in the time: An Interview with Guitarist and Film Composer Lyle Workman