Product Reviews
by KVR Members

All reviews by Faydit

Review Something
or Find Reviews
RockAmp [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on 18th February 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is a very nice sounding guitar amp simulation.

Very good quality - not only - for a free plug-in. I know some commercial amp-sim plugins, which sound much less convincing.

The clean as well as the overdriven sounds are very convincing, without the often heard too sharp, too shrill or too digital sounding higher frequencies, the - compared to a lot of real amps - even luxurious pre- and post-tone shaping controls allow a good (fine-)adjustment. Just sounds right. The overtone reproduction and dynamic reaction also is very good, the general tone is very naturally sounding, doesn't over-colorize the original signal, plays and reacts very much like a good real tube amp.

The general sonic character for me is some very good, in a positively sense more vintage based tube amp tone, but - if wished - with much more gain, even decent high gain, so, depending on the tone controls you easily can adjust some nice, more American as well as more British sounding tones.

The modulation and delay section work fine, although I personally mostly prefer a pure amp tone, but nice to have these options already built in.

Works very well with different cabinet/speaker IR's.

Congratulations to the developer and thank you.

Wet Reverberator [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on 17th February 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I always thought I had at least some quite good sounding reverbs. And then I heard this one and it really blew me away.

The Wet Reverberator sounds in some ways a little bit different than other room reverbs, which is something you will like or not, I personally think, this is the best, clearest, most precisely working and at the same time most naturally sounding reverb, I've ever heard. The natural, very musical sounding tone and the high quality still remain, even if you create very extreme, almost supernaturally sounding reverbs with it. No matter if you just give the sound some decent dimensionality or if you adjust incredibly dense, atmospheric reverb soundscapes, or anything in between, it always sounds good, without any too digital, harsh or sterile sounding higher frequencies or any other common problems, while the original signal even at higher mixing levels is much better retained than expected.

The controls allow a very wide range of different sounding reverbs, from subtle to extreme, a lot of excellent and useful tone shaping features and the frequency plot visualization enable precise individual adjustment.

Psychedelic Tunnel T1 [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on 22nd January 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I like on G-Sonique, that they always do things a little different than others or present products, which have their own individual character or are a little off-maistream.

I found that Psychedelic Tunnel T1 finally is a fresh, creative, different approach to the reverb theme, which enables a wide range of more spacious, ambient, unusual sounding reverbs with a very interesting character.

Usually I'm mainly - if any - using some tape echo and / or spring reverb, but this one I only tested shortly and liked it. You can get some nice, pulsating reverbs due to 3 combined sets of LFO modulation, but what I like most on it is the dark energy control, some kind of detuned octaver, which gives a very special, great sound to the reverb.

Not only usable for Psytrance, Dub, ...

Just for fun I even tested it with the lead channel of high gain guitar amp sims, and although you usually don't use reverbs and high gain, as this doesn't sound very well, the T1 also in this combination sounds very interesting and nice, the guitar tone changes to some kind of doomy sounding organ/synthesizer-like tones, which sound and work great and unusual also in a heavier or even metal context.

Another nice and a little weird combination is using the T1 in combination with some phaser, Leslie or Univibe, or with one of my all-time favorite pedals, the Electric Kingdom (also from G-Sonique). Or eg. try it with a B3, Rhodes, Bass or some percussion to make them sound different, new and interesting.

A very good special reverb for people who are looking for some fresh, new sounds.

And - it really is not expensive.

Mikron Phaser [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on 16th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I really like Phasers, also have a lot of different phaser plugins, but up to now never was totally convinced of what I heard from them.

The Mikron Phaser seems to come much closer to my idea of a good phaser sound. As the developers say, it's based on a Small Stone Phaser, which is a good reference.

What I like is the wonderfully recreated vintage character, the musical quality of the tone as well as the additional adjustment possibilities. I don't have so much experience with the real Small Stone, but when testing the Mikron Phaser I also found some settings, which came close to my two favorite phasers, the Maestro Oberheim and the Mutron Bi-Phase, especially this typically 60's / 70's very special, deep pulsating, breathing low frequency phasing a lot of phaser plugins don't seem to simulate too convincing, if ever. Often the phasing sounds too thin or too sharp, just not "analog" enough and with too little body. The Mikron Phaser doesn't seem to have these problems, it just sounds right to me.

Up to now for me one of the best and most musically sounding phaser plugins I've heard.

plasticityFilter [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on 16th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very uselful little tool for me.

The HP / LF Filters work fine, resonance control allows a more interesting tone shaping, but the big surprise for me was the drive control. Usually - as a guitarist - I often are not too convinced of a lot of not especially for guitar designed gear, which offers digital audio saturation, overdrive or distortion, nevertheless I'm always curious about new gear.

Quite the opposite here. Adjusted properly you can use this plugin as well as a small, easily adjustable and very flexible overdrive replacement or even as an amp-sim replacement, if you are looking for some very well controllable transparent, naturally and harmonically sounding overdrive or distortion tones. I know some overdrive / distortion pedal sims and amp sims, which for me sounded worse than some of the tones, I got out of this small plugin at my first attempts, even without any IR-cabinet or additional other gear. With additional plugins it also works fine.

My experience was, that less often is more, especially when adjusting resonance and drive.

A very good and useful tool for a flexible sound shaping, while maintaining the sonic qualities of tones or even improving them.

My thanks go to the developers.

Echobandit Analog Tape Echo Delay [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on 16th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Once no recreation of a decades old vintage tape echo unit from a famous company, but a digital recreation of the rather newly developed F-Pedals' Echobandit Gold and Silver tape echoes, which as hardware units - most probably - due to their great sound and small size - seem too be permanently sold out.

The Nembrini plugin version allows blending between the two different sonic characters, everything else works and is controlled as you would expect it from a tape echo simulation, and the Echobandit sounds very convincing, if you like tape echoes.

Great vintage based echo tones with maybe some modern improvement and without all the hardware problems, original tape echoes were known for. I've noticed positively that feedback/repeats works more stable before starting to self-oscillate than eg. an Echoplex, Copycat or some on these units based plugin-simulations, also all other controls seem to be very subtle adjustable, so that you really can get a lot of different echoes out of this plugin, from very short slap back echoes to large, dense atmospheric walls of repetitions.

The general quality of the echoes is great, everything always sounds very musically, never sterile, digitally or unharmonious.

So, if you need a variety of good tape echo sounds and do not necessarily need to see a vintage looking GUI of some more famous units on your screen, but look more for a very good tone, I think, this can be the only tape echo plugin, you'll ever need.

The rack version even expands the possibilites and allows - due to the two - also indenpenently adjustable - channels even the simulation of a multihead echo with 2 different echo times, different character, repeats, ...

Great state-of-the-art-technology for great, vintage based echo tones with some additional modern features.

Phazevibe 3 Modes Phaser Wha Vibe [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on 16th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Whenever you play an incredibly good and authentic sounding guitar amp sim or a guitar pedal sim, that just nails the tone, so that you cannnot help start grinning like a Cheshire cat while playing, chances are extremely good that Mr. Nembrini has programmed them. (My experience.).

He seems to have the unique talent, to not only making his simulations sound authentic, but also they behave and react like the real gear, so that you also can play them just like the real world originals.

The Eddie Kramer / F-Pedals designed Phazevibe just sonds great and very musical. No only, but also recommended - of course - for Hendrix-fans, nevertheless you get a lot of different, more or less timeless great tones out of it, which you maybe also can get with an individual, more complicated effects chain, but alone for this you will need a very good sounding vintage phaser, a good sounding wah and / or auto wah, an equalizer, an authentic univibe and a good Leslie-rotary simulation and then you just have to start adjusting everything right and need to know how to mix all this properly together, to get some comparable sounds. Phazevibe offers you these kind of (legendary) tones summed up and yet widely controllable with just a single or at least some few knobs.

The vivid, pulsating Phazevibe tones are a good combination - and alternative to the usual clean (tremolo/vibrato plus) spring reverb standard - especially with a good, cleaner adjusted Plexi or Tweed amp sim, but also work fine at higher gain settings and with more modern amp designs. Also they are, I think, not only useful for guitars. Also eg. Bass, Organ, Synthesizers, ... really can sound fantasic through it.

The original pedal is great and really unique. And so is this plugin! The rack version even allows some more additional tweaking options, which the real pedal doesn't offer.

Lem Echo Music [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on 12th December 2019
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very good sounding tape echo simulation. Nice alternative to the more common Space Echo plugs. The only wish I have is - even if this may not be authentic - to implement in the settings section an individual delay time adjustment for the 3 heads, as it is also found in some other tape echo sims. (Eg. head 1: 1-99 ms, head 2: 100 - 200 ms, head 3: 200 - 500ms).

NastyDLA [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on 5th December 2019
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Excellent (Vintage) Delay with a lot of useful additional options. The manual describes the special features well. Best of all, it's free.

Defiant WT [read all reviews]
Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on 5th December 2019
Version reviewed: V2 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Nice, small, compact synth, with more options and flexibility than expected at first glance. Some good sounds and a lot of tweaking is possible.