Product Reviews
by KVR Members

All reviews by juliandoe

Review Something
or Find Reviews
Awesome Piano [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 12th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

don't expect a good sounding grand piano. this is worn, out of tune, old and dusty piano that will fit well in a Halloween soundtrack. Very versatile and easy to use. 5 stars.

Julian Doe.

MultiDrive Pedal Pro LE [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 12th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The pedal sounds nice, nothing great, but it's a good distortion/overdrive. It's better than the logic overdrive but there are free overdrives that sound better.

what I don't like is the marketing. From the pictures and the description, you'll believe that you'll get your hands on 12 simulations, maybe with some restrictions or limitations. Instead, you get only one pedal (an sd1 style). there's no way to understand how the complete collection sounds basing your experience by one plugin. Maybe a 7 days trial would be desirable.

In my opinion, this is a nice company with a lot of potentials that is not marketing itself well.

YALA [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 11th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I really like this compressor. I don't think its sound is comparable to a vari-mu compressor but it's really good. I have logic and the built in compressor offers me a large variety of typology but one like this one is missing. I use it on single instruments with a high compression rate. in this way it gives me a rich sound with tons of harmonics and a nice warmth. Great on snares, long kicks and bass. Also very handy with lead synths with high resonance. Vocals? No, not for me. If you want a free levelling amplifier the adhd leveling tool is what you're looking for.

The only thing I don't like about it is the two screws to control release and threshold. I get it, you want the look but manage that screws it's a pain. I'm not totally against the look, I like to have a good looking pluging (but if it sounds good can be just boring controls and I'm happy). please AO leave the screws and put two knobs on the right, thank you.

Julian Doe.

Rare [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 11th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

It's a nice pultec emulation. works very well but the bells curves and the harmonic distortion is less pleasant of the paid counterparts. So if you're completely new to the pultec sound this is a good first foot in the door but if you like it an upgrade is necessary.

If you have logic you don't need this plugin since you have the vintage tube eq that does the same job and in my opinion, sounds a little bit better.

Julian Doe.

SQ8ROM [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 11th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I think it's a matter of taste and this is not my cup of tea. three of four nice sound, the rest is boring and uninspiring. Really, testing all the 168 sounds has been a pain. You can do the same sounds that this rompler does with a native/free synth using way less hard disk space.

Noize Retro [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 11th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Do you ever feel that your virtual instrument sounds sterile, aseptic, too digital and you don't know what to do? A little bit of overdrive and the Denise Noize Retro could be the answer. This plugin generates a fully controllable noise that, thanks to the adapt function, will play under your instrument creating a nice vintage effect. You can select the frequency, the amount of noise, and the fade in/out of the effect. Honestly, I never use it without the adapt function on since I don't need a noise generator. Great also on the mixbus after a side-chained compressor for a great lo-fi effect. Do you want a great sounding lo-fi piano? take a dbx style compressor 4:1 ratio and squash till -10, cut 500 and 4k, and use the Noize Retro 60%, 60/40 rise/fall 1k/4k filter 0% stereo input boost output to taste. you're welcome.

The only annoying thing about the plugin is that if you click on the dots on the left, the noize retro writing at the centre, the more button on the right and the arcade on the bottom it always says the same thing: that you have to buy the full version. Ok I understand it but having four different places that do the same thing is really annoying and it won't give you any other information about it. Maybe having only the "more" button with this function explaining that these buttons will do this and that in the paid version can be a better marketing choice. Just sayin.

Julian Doe.

MJUC jr. [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 11th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Super intuitive and simple to use the MJUC jr is a Vari-Mu compressor that everyone should have in their arsenal. Even if it's limited in his functions this compressor is useful in several situations. I love it with the fast setting on snares, it's also gentle and precise on vocals and acoustic instruments. I also use it when I want to add a little bit of compression to a channel strip, an amp or to another compressor, in fact, it's one of my two compressors in my "sandwich" technique (comp-eq-comp). The only way I don't use this compressor is on overheads, group of instruments, reverbs, mix bus, sub-mixes, parallel compression. I feel that with multiple sounds it starts to sound unpleasant to me and shows the limitations of the free version. That's why I'm going to buy the full version, that, by the way, has a ridiculously low price for what it does. This is a MUST HAVE. No doubt, click download and you won't regret it.

Julian Doe.

StereoPan [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 11th December 2019
Version reviewed: 5.0.3 on Mac
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I've found this plugin very useful. It does not color the sound and you can place the left and the right channel, independently one from the other, everywhere in the panorama stereo.

6030 Ultimate Compressor [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 9th December 2019
Version reviewed: 6.5.11 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This unit contains a lot of well designed and good sounding compressors. Every single compressor has his own distinct voice and it's very easy to use. Low latency and low CPU usage make this plugin perfect to be part of your signal chain. The compressor selector on the side allows you to change compressor easily and quickly so you can A/B different compressors and make quick decisions.

Temper [read all reviews]
Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 9th December 2019
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

this is a great unit, not CPU hungry, versatile and very tweakable. For my taste, it sounds better in the hi-gain territory, especially on 808s, subs and basses. Less pleasant on guitars or high pitched instruments.

Massive X Explored - Massive X 101Studio Series - Recording Drums - Logic Pro X 503Auto-Tune EFX+ Video Manual - Auto-Tune 101What's New in Logic 10.4.5 - Logic Pro X 10.4.5EDM Production Tips - Logic Pro X 402
Andrew Huang Interview: Launching a music career on social mediaRobert Godin's lifetime building guitars with BONUS factory tourThe Scoop About Spark: An Interview with Positive Grid20 Years and counting: An interview with Arturia's Frederic BrunCreativity, craft, and career: An interview with Steve Vai