1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by juliandoe

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 12th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

don't expect a good sounding grand piano. this is worn, out of tune, old and dusty piano that will fit well in a Halloween soundtrack. Very versatile and easy to use. 5 stars.

Julian Doe.

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 12th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The pedal sounds nice, nothing great, but it's a good distortion/overdrive. It's better than the logic overdrive but there are free overdrives that sound better.

what I don't like is the marketing. From the pictures and the description, you'll believe that you'll get your hands on 12 simulations, maybe with some restrictions or limitations. Instead, you get only one pedal (an sd1 style). there's no way to understand how the complete collection sounds basing your experience by one plugin. Maybe a 7 days trial would be desirable.

In my opinion, this is a nice company with a lot of potentials that is not marketing itself well.

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 11th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I think it's a matter of taste and this is not my cup of tea. three of four nice sound, the rest is boring and uninspiring. Really, testing all the 168 sounds has been a pain. You can do the same sounds that this rompler does with a native/free synth using way less hard disk space.

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 11th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Do you ever feel that your virtual instrument sounds sterile, aseptic, too digital and you don't know what to do? A little bit of overdrive and the Denise Noize Retro could be the answer. This plugin generates a fully controllable noise that, thanks to the adapt function, will play under your instrument creating a nice vintage effect. You can select the frequency, the amount of noise, and the fade in/out of the effect. Honestly, I never use it without the adapt function on since I don't need a noise generator. Great also on the mixbus after a side-chained compressor for a great lo-fi effect. Do you want a great sounding lo-fi piano? take a dbx style compressor 4:1 ratio and squash till -10, cut 500 and 4k, and use the Noize Retro 60%, 60/40 rise/fall 1k/4k filter 0% stereo input boost output to taste. you're welcome.

The only annoying thing about the plugin is that if you click on the dots on the left, the noize retro writing at the centre, the more button on the right and the arcade on the bottom it always says the same thing: that you have to buy the full version. Ok I understand it but having four different places that do the same thing is really annoying and it won't give you any other information about it. Maybe having only the "more" button with this function explaining that these buttons will do this and that in the paid version can be a better marketing choice. Just sayin.

Julian Doe.

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 11th January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Super intuitive and simple to use the MJUC jr is a Vari-Mu compressor that everyone should have in their arsenal. Even if it's limited in his functions this compressor is useful in several situations. I love it with the fast setting on snares, it's also gentle and precise on vocals and acoustic instruments. I also use it when I want to add a little bit of compression to a channel strip, an amp or to another compressor, in fact, it's one of my two compressors in my "sandwich" technique (comp-eq-comp). The only way I don't use this compressor is on overheads, group of instruments, reverbs, mix bus, sub-mixes, parallel compression. I feel that with multiple sounds it starts to sound unpleasant to me and shows the limitations of the free version. That's why I'm going to buy the full version, that, by the way, has a ridiculously low price for what it does. This is a MUST HAVE. No doubt, click download and you won't regret it.

Julian Doe.

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 11th December 2019
Version reviewed: 5.0.3 on Mac
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I've found this plugin very useful. It does not color the sound and you can place the left and the right channel, independently one from the other, everywhere in the panorama stereo.

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 9th December 2019
Version reviewed: 6.5.11 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This unit contains a lot of well designed and good sounding compressors. Every single compressor has his own distinct voice and it's very easy to use. Low latency and low CPU usage make this plugin perfect to be part of your signal chain. The compressor selector on the side allows you to change compressor easily and quickly so you can A/B different compressors and make quick decisions.

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 9th December 2019
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

this is a great unit, not CPU hungry, versatile and very tweakable. For my taste, it sounds better in the hi-gain territory, especially on 808s, subs and basses. Less pleasant on guitars or high pitched instruments.

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 9th December 2019
Version reviewed: 1.0.9 on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This plugin is a good sounding unit. Unfortunately, the effect is at his best when the high CPU is on. And it's very heavy on it. Good for a small session but if you have a large project it's unlikely that you will have it on. For free, it's the best sounding tube saturation unit I've tested and the equalizer make it a lot versatile and the saturation is warm and doesn't sound fuzzy or digital.

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 9th December 2019
Version reviewed: 5.0.3 on Mac
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The major flaw of this plugin is the absence of an output/level control. Basically it increases the volume and adds saturation so to have the max of saturation you also have a louder signal. The best way to use this plugin is as a gain knob. if you want to add gain and also saturation is perfect. if you want only the saturation it's not your plugin. The quality of the plugin is good, the saturation is nice.