Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by rcrath

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on July 25th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Excuse my English plz! It is preferable to my Spanish! This plugin, a bass and bass drum synth along the lines of future audio's sublab but free just needs a few bug fixes and missing features to become oftop line plugin I would have loved to vote for in KVR DC 21, but the problems are dealbreakers for me...mayb a post-contst fix? Key trouble is that there are zero crossing problems with the signal processing that produce loud clicks that cannot be attributed or used as bass drum clicks. I thought tweaking the envelopes might clear the problem but I was unable to get clean results even with longer attack times on the filter and the amplitude. Missing features: a noise osc, glide/glissando, adjustable pitch bend settings so that I can get my controller to work with the synth's PB. I could not get my samples working in the sampler although they showed up in the graphics, and I think I am missing simething because samples seem to work fine in the presets. The signal flow is difficult to figure without a manual. I tried watching the vids, but my spanish was not good enough. Even a signal flow chart would be welcom. It alseo seems to me likke the sample button should be up top as a tab rather than in its own space, since all the other stuff up top uses the same space.This sounds super critical but it is not---all of these are fixable and I want to encourage the dev to do so (or show me what I am missing!), as the sounds that do come through, both on bass and on bass drum, have a lot of potential, and the synth looks like it has a lot of versatility, even perhaps beyond bass stuff, but I could not get to that because of the problems. Please keep at this one! Thanks and sorry to be a bit negative.

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on July 21st, 2021
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows.
Last edited by rcrath on 21st July 2021.

This is listed as no longer available, but version 3, a seriously excellent update, is available at Voxengo. Here is my demo of it in action: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKKMolMmPeM The tone stack has been updated and the sound engine is a major upgrade from v1 and v2. Dynacab is a great new feature. One of the best free amps anywhere.

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on January 11th, 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by AudioFB on 12th January 2020.

This is an interesting looking plugin and I liked the idea of an eq that does mid-side as it's main thing, but this is just a demo with copy protection of intermittent noise, So it is not free as advertised. Developer should change this was it will about many people demos are not free plugins.

Edited. :).

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on February 13th, 2019
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows.
Last edited by rcrath on 13th February 2019.

I try out the tec breath and bite controller on Dmitry Sches's Thorn CM synth in a chill/ambient MIDI Guitar piece. https://youtu.be/l7odPRhDoMA. Geek details at Way Music. Want just the music? It is on BandCamp. The instant feedback of controlling through the breath is strikingly intuitive, so I could bring things to the edge but back off before they spilled over into mayhem.

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on February 13th, 2019
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows.
Last edited by rcrath on 13th February 2019.

moved to BBC 2 page. Deleted here.It is a great controller, a blast to use. BIght Breath Nod Tilt all put out their own CCs.

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on November 11th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

Busta, KVR User Zoned's entry in the 2018 KVR Developer Challenge, gets a 7-minute Digital Guitarist workout of its "harmonic-series-based, instant-play, monophonic sampler for Windows."

https://youtu.be/f6Pn5DCz7WU

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on October 31st, 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

I did a 2 minute walkthrough of this fun vsti that comes just in time for Halloween.

https://youtu.be/5Rt8taKCRtQ

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on October 16th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Pro FET by Ignite Amps.

Distortion modeling of a hardware pedal made by Ignite.

ProFET, Ignite Amp's entry in the 2018 KVR Developer Challenge, gets a six-minute Digital Guitarist workout. It was the first place winner in the contest.

Drop it in front of a clean guitar amp for instant metal tones.

Professional GUI.

Easy on the CPU.

Nice sounding distortion made for a particular genre's tone.

Within that limited frame, ProFET provides nice tone shaping with a 4-band EQ and some nuance on the transients with the "shape" switch.

There are a ton of different free and paid distortions, each with its own personality. I'll do some more vids on them probably. Try out the demos and freebies and pick the one that suits your ears best. This is a good one if it fits your style.

https://youtu.be/aLZsY7F1YYI

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on October 7th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows

fun combo of distortion and compression (-distression) and bit-crushing sample rate reduction. It was not showing inputs for the side chaine in bidule so docked a point there! will go in my distortion folder for specialoccasions though.

4 minute video walk-through here.

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on October 5th, 2018
Version reviewed: 3.5 on Windows.
Last edited by rcrath on 5th October 2018.

this is one of my top two go to free guitar amp plugins, along with the first version of Voxengo Boogex. It has a great and fully loaded Fx rack and pedalboard, lot's of tweakability on the amps. Recorded three rreplay albums with it and just did a video demo of how to get a freeamp instance running on any windows computer, no host required. (uses Herman Seib's excellent SaviHost).