Zebra and Wave Sequencing

Official support for: u-he.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

It has occured to me that Zebra may just be the perfect tool to try out some wave sequencing ideas that I have. I am looking for wave sequences that involve straight segments, much like PWM.

For example, morphing a saw into a square would be interesting but there are many other geometricaly progressive shapes that might provided some intersting results.

What I find fascinating about Zebra is how it modulates the wave sequence (nice move Urs, I don't think anyone has thought of that).

Question: Can Zebra modulate wavesequences above sub-audio (20 Hz) levels? I presume so. That might yeild some very interesting sidebands. :o

I am just beginning to realize the possiblities of Zebra. You can do things with Zebra that I don't think are possible with other synths.

I have lots of exploring to do.

John M.

Lux_Seeker@yahoo.com wrote:What I find fascinating about Zebra is how it modulates the wave sequence (nice move Urs, I don't think anyone has thought of that).
Exactly what "how_to _modulate" do you refer to?
As far as I can see the principle is the same as on the PPG and Waldorf synths, no?

meister eder wrote:
Lux_Seeker@yahoo.com wrote:What I find fascinating about Zebra is how it modulates the wave sequence (nice move Urs, I don't think anyone has thought of that).
As far as I can see the principle is the same as on the PPG and Waldorf synths, no?
Nope. IIRC PPG synths make a hard switch between two waveforms at the beginning of a cycle. Waldorf synths can dynamically (dynamical = by volume, mix) fade between two adjacent waveforms in a table.

Zebra does dynamically fade between waveforms in the two "blend" modes.

But in the "morph" modes, the actual curves smoothly interpolate, yielding in much more expressive transitions than simple crossfades.

Example:

Code: Select all

Waveform 1:
__
  |
  |______

Waveform 2:

______
      |
      |__