Fast repeated notes in ManyBass - Tutorial now available

Official support for: manytone.com
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi guys,

I've been searching the forum and the manual but I can't seem to find any info on where the velocity splits are. I'm doing rock and metal for the most part and play a lot of repeated notes. I always end up with "machine gun" sounding bass parts. I'm quite new to ManyBass but it would be nice with a tutorial on how to program MB to avoid these annoying, fake sounding bass lines. I know it's possible since I've heard an excellent demo song on ManyTone.com with fast repeated notes that sound great (http://www.manytone.com/music/manybassdemo3.mp3). :)
Even my ordinary 8th notes pump at 120-130 BPM sounds fake... :(
Thanks in advance.

Seriously... Am I the only MB user who occationally program AC/DC sounding bass lines (8th notes pump)? :D

Randomizing velocities helps, then you go and adjust them to make it fit the context of the song and gel with the other instruments around it.
Ashley Smith
CEO - MIX IT IN THE BOX
www.mixititb.com | www.seattleunderground.co.uk
Sound Engineer/Producer/Musician/Audio and Media Content Creator

What velocity values do you recommend I use, for the randomization? :)

I'm a big fan of Frank's MIDI plugins for the randomize/humanize stuff.

http://www.midi-plugins.de/

N.
I miss MindPrint. My TRIO needs a big brother.

Thanks for your help so far. :)
Any other tricks you can think of?

does ManyBass have round robin?? (I don't have manybass - yet)

Oh, good idea for a tutorial! Sounds like that's next on the list. :)

RedWine
No, ManyBass doesn't have Round Robin. That's why I'm having trouble with repeated notes. ;)

WOW, Gregjazz, that'd be great!!! I assume you mean a tutorial on ManyBass.com?
How soon can we expect to read this new tutorial? ;)
I'm in desperate need of knowing this...

Frank's plugins look interesting, but it doesn't say if they work with other hosts than Cakewalk and Cubase?