Possible scam buyer! Using PayPal Friends & Family = NO PROTECTION if you get scammed
-
- KVRist
- 216 posts since 12 Jan, 2017 from England
That’s weird af. I bought SD3 off him too and verified with Toontrack and they said it was legit. I have been emailing back and forth with him for a few weeks too, seems a nice guy. I will ask him. Stolen credit cards?
- KVRist
- 114 posts since 21 Aug, 2020
That's how he does it apparently from what I've seen. After a few months the license gets revoked when the fraud is filed. He keeps the money and you lose your license.
-
- KVRist
- 216 posts since 12 Jan, 2017 from England
Doesn’t PayPal protect us? I paid using goods and services so we should be fine right?
-
- KVRist
- 114 posts since 8 Oct, 2019 from Lannion, France
Paypal may protect if you're getting screwed ; but you eventually only get screwed when/if the society, who sold to the card jacker the license, gets annoyed by the original credit card's owner bank, and does revoke the license.
-
- KVRist
- 216 posts since 12 Jan, 2017 from England
Well I lost my case against a known scammer that I had proof against. I honestly thought paying with PayPal goods and services would cover me. What a total shambles. PayPal told me they are not a law enforcement agency. They also claim it’s a warranty issue if I get my license revoked, which they don’t cover. Apparently a seller buying licenses with stolen credit cards and selling them on is a warranty issue wtf so angry
-
- KVRist
- 216 posts since 12 Jan, 2017 from England
Remember: not even paying with ‘goods and services’ covers you, let my case above be a warning. Do not post WTB ads, that was my mistake. Last time I buy off forums from anyone without a clear history of buying and selling safely
- KVRian
- 1113 posts since 8 Oct, 2019
So I was checking out a seller that sells SoundToys, FabFilter and some other stuff. Seemed like a very real person, commented on the posts, was looking to buy as well. I asked him to add me on FB so I could verify his account and he ghosted me, so I did a reverse image search and found that he took his profile pic from some couples blog and the background image from some studio in LA. When I confronted him in the group, he deleted his posting. He's selling from this FB account and this knobcloud account. Currently still selling Fabfilter stuff on knobcloud, I wrote to them and the admins of the FB group. If you think you might have purchased from him, I have some more screenshots, cause he's deleting stuff now. Man f these guys...
-
- KVRist
- 93 posts since 2 Mar, 2004 from Atlanta Ga
I posted a WTB a few days ago and got a response from a brand new user who signed up this morning lol.
This is what he pm’d me:
Have you checked with James via jr9holmes @gmail.com,he has a Softube Chandler Germanium he wants to part with.
His username is 9timer
Probably just trying to be helpful right


This is what he pm’d me:
Have you checked with James via jr9holmes @gmail.com,he has a Softube Chandler Germanium he wants to part with.
His username is 9timer
Probably just trying to be helpful right
-
- KVRist
- 444 posts since 31 May, 2018
I also received this message (the VST is differentdez81 wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:52 pm I posted a WTB a few days ago and got a response from a brand new user who signed up this morning lol.
This is what he pm’d me:
Have you checked with James via jr9holmes @gmail.com,he has a Softube Chandler Germanium he wants to part with.
His username is 9timer
Probably just trying to be helpful right![]()
-
- KVRist
- 98 posts since 25 Dec, 2019
also received this, different VST.becseigy wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:56 pmI also received this message (the VST is differentdez81 wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:52 pm I posted a WTB a few days ago and got a response from a brand new user who signed up this morning lol.
This is what he pm’d me:
Have you checked with James via jr9holmes @gmail.com,he has a Softube Chandler Germanium he wants to part with.
His username is 9timer
Probably just trying to be helpful right![]()
). Reported.
-
- KVRian
- 695 posts since 28 Jul, 2016
I'm getting odd messages from a brand new user, Trashtimmy808. They offered to pay more than double for my Komplete Ultimate, and they keep trying to get me to dm them on Discord (@Timon#8969). Avoid
-
- KVRist
- 107 posts since 4 Jun, 2015
I guess I've been scammed from user @popcornsic who has been already banned, so I guess I was not the only one. My bad I didn't check the status and payed F&F for the low amount.
-
- KVRAF
- 9144 posts since 7 Oct, 2005
It is ok! It was resolved! sorry! 
Using: Cubase Pro 15, Reason 13, Tascam US-4x4HR, MODX6, DM12D, LaunchKey 49, Yamaha guitar(Pacifica 612v) and bass (BB234) and some virtual instruments and synths.
-
- KVRAF
- 35671 posts since 11 Apr, 2010 from Germany
I had that once too... can't for the life of me remember now though what was the reason. I only remember that the money got transferred regularly after a few days.
Edit: Just saw now that it has been resolved for you. Nevermind then.
Edit: Just saw now that it has been resolved for you. Nevermind then.
Partner Links
When you buy from our partners through links on kvraudio.com KVR may earn an affiliate commission. This helps to support KVR. Thanks!