How do I record multiple audio inputs?

Discussion about: tracktion.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I'm new to the recording world and I've been trying to find a tutorial on YouTube as well a looking through Tacktion's user guide and reference manual on how record multiple audio inputs. So far, I only see two inputs on my settings page when I start a project.
I'm using a Mackie ProFX8 with a USB interface into a windows laptop with Tracktion 4 software.
CAN I do this with this audio interface and software?

Help!
Tony

Hi,

Having googled the interface I see it is only a 2x2 device.
This means that the mixer will take all its inputs and "mix" before sending the resulting two channels via USB to the computer.
If you need to record more than two channels simultaneously, you will need different hardware I'm afraid.

Thanks Ben!
I was starting to think that was the situation. It IS a little but limited but now I know what "2x2" means(and to remember to google stuff) and at least the setup I have now WILL serve my purposes.

Thanks again,
Tony

Remember what you CAN do is use the 2 channels as 2 separate inputs (mono, of course ! ). I've done this for 2 singers who were doing harmonies - pan one full left, and the other full right.

Remember to DISABLE USB Thru on the Mackie if you are going to be recording audio on new tracks while listening to existing tracks, so you only get the NEW material on the recorded tracks.
Waveform 11; Win10 desktop/8 Gig; Win8 Laptop 4Gig; MPK261; VFX+disfunctional ESQ-1

Thanks Peter,
I've been doing the two mono channels for the vocalists and it's worked out pretty well.
Thanks for the reminder on the DISABLE USB thru switch though. I DID read this in the manual and FORGOT-by golly, those tracks sure DO record on one another all right!

Steep learning curve for me here so I appreciate the input.

Thanks again,
Tony