DJing with Bitwig

Official support for: bitwig.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

So I'm still very new to Bitwig want to start building a DJ project and i have 200 odd files all processed with Mixed In Key. I had started this project in Ableton a while ago so i'm used to warping tracks.

In Ableton warp details were saved in the .asd files. So my question is what's the best way of saving this info with BW... as far as I can work out saving the files as clips in My Library is the best way to go... any better techniques or tips?

Ta!

Bitwig doesn't save external analysis file like Ableton does. However, Bitwig can and does READ .asd files and uses the metadata in those if they exist.

Bitwig's stretching (warping) sound is arguably better than Ableton's. (Elastique Pro is much better than Ableton's Complex or Complex Pro.) It's onset (transient) detection is equally bad as Abletons. Where you'll miss Ableton is that you can have Ableton plop down stretch markers automatically at every detected transient (which isn't always what you want, but....). But in Bitwig you'll have to manually place and drag the stretch markers as you go.

That said, if your goal is to DJ and you're already using prep tools like Mixed in Key, why not just use real DJ software? And a real DJ controller? You can get an excellent starter controller like the Pioneer DDJ-200 AND a full license to rekordbox DJ for only $150 USD. The habits and muscle memory you learn on something like a DDJ-200 will translate to pretty much every club environment since most are standardized on Pioneer gear.

If you prep your tracks and sets for Bitwig (or Ableton), you'll have to go through all that again (and differently) if you ever move up to more standard gear. Or you can just start using rekordbox right off the bat and your prepped tracks will be good to go until somebody manages to kick Pioneer off the throne.

Hey, Yokai!