How do you feel about subscription based plugins?

VST, AU, AAX, CLAP, etc. Plugin Virtual Effects Discussion
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi all,

I'm wondering what peoples opinions are about subscription based plugins where you'd pay monthly to use a plugin instead of the usual 1-time up-front payment?

Assuming the subscription is fairly priced for the given plugin, would you rather be able to pay monthly and cancel the subscription at any point in the future if you decide you don't want to use it anymore, or would you rather just pay the full price up front and have access to it for life, even if it mean potentially wasting money on a plugin you may not use too often if at all?

Horrible Idea. As an artist and pro I need access to my many tools all the time. The bookkeeping, which one is active, which one isn't, makes it totally absurd if you have/need a large collection of plug ins.
There may be some tax related circumstances which may be beneficial for a few, but generally it is just a method to milk the users even more.

I don't like it and try to avoid it when there are alternatives. The risik is too high (as long as you're not that rich) to lose oversight over all your subscriptions!

That's why I love companies like Meldaproduction or Image Line where the updates are free. Pay once and use it the rest of your life.

I like the REAPER pricing model, too. (Free updates for the next big version, too, and then you have to pay again.)

I don't like the new monthly subscription model of Meldaproduction.

But if it were necessary in a paid job, I would use subscriptions, too. Adobe for example. Some people don't have a better alternative to the Creative Cloud.

I do understand it from a business point of view because then the monthly income of a company is better planable. But personally I don't like it as an user!
Last edited by Tricky-Loops on Sun Sep 13, 2020 8:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.