Hooking up multiple stereo synths in home studio

Anything about hardware musical instruments.
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

I have a number of nice analog stereo synths and modules that I would like to have available to use at any time. I have an RME Fireface Interface and am wondering if I should use this as a mixer for just playing at home (Not recording mostly), or should I consider something else to have all available at once thru my speakers. I am interested in good sound quality so I can do not degrade the sound quality from my Sequential/Moog or other synths.
I am somewhat new to setting them up all at once, so I am wondering what others do in their home setups.
Should I get an analog mixer to integrate them all, or something else? What do you synth guys do? I am more of a guitar player than a synth guy, so most of this is kind of new to me to bring it all together.

I use an Allen & Heath ZED14 mixing desk and a Samson SM10 line mixer to connect all my analog stuff ... the SM10 goes into a stereo line input on the ZED, then a stereo line out from the ZED goes into my AK1 audio interface. I've been considering a multi-channel USB mixer so I can multi-track the synths in real time, but haven't pulled the trigger yet.:)

A lot of mixers these days have built-in 24 bit audio interfaces, so the audio quality is good. How many audio inputs would you need?

I've been using mixers with audio interfaces built into them for over 10 years, and personally I love them. Whether it's worthwhile if you already have an interface is a question only you can answer.

One of the big advantages of a mixer interface is that you can use it without the PC being on. Is that possible with the RME, or are you dependent on the PC being on? That might inform your decision. You also don't have to deal with another set of audio cables between mixer and interface; there's just the (normally USB) connection to the PC from the mixer.