Do I still need to use WineASIO to have MuLab running on Linux?

Official support for: mutools.com
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hei,

While we're still waiting for the Linux version :-) the way to use Wine. So, yesterday I just tried it on my Linux system. No setup was necessary, I could run MuLab simply double clicking the .exe file. And it worked very well. A few glitches, but nothing vital so far. So, do I still need to use WineASIO?

Cheers,
Castle

I'm not sure about Linux but on a Mac I can now use Mulab in recent versions of Wine without the need for the Mac version of wineasio. As long as I also install and use either the asio4all or flasio driver I can achieve acceptable audio latency (at least to my ears). That's not something I could have achieved or expected in earlier versions of Wine from just a few years ago without using wineasio.

Ok, I'm new to this, so what is/was the purpose of wineasio?

Yes, in the past osxwineasio was essential for low latency audio in Wine but on a Mac I have found this is no longer the case. I discovered the trick of using asioralll out of desperation when osxwineasio stopped working in recent builds of Wine.

Recently I did try using Mulab in an installation of Zorin OS as you described and although Mulab was useable, the audio latency was not good. I have not tried it in Linux but I would imagine that an installation of asio4all into wine would improve the results and is a lot easier to configure than a wineasio/jack setup. Worth a try anyway.

oldcastle wrote: Mon Mar 14, 2022 11:15 pm Hei,

While we're still waiting for the Linux version :-) the way to use Wine. So, yesterday I just tried it on my Linux system. No setup was necessary, I could run MuLab simply double clicking the .exe file. And it worked very well. A few glitches, but nothing vital so far. So, do I still need to use WineASIO?

Cheers,
Castle