Any Rhodes expert out there?

How to make that sound...
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

hi forum. I'm a rhodes piano sound lover even though I dont own one and never heard one live. So I'm searching the free synths catalog (I'm quite poor) for the ones I like best and fit tests on songs like Twin Peaks theme, How to dissapear completely or Sheep by Pink Floyd.

I'm narrowing to two candidates: a Surge XT patch by Roger Linn called 'Rhodes EP' and the Rhodes preset in Keyzone Classic. Whats your opinion of these? Are they anywhere near the real thing? Any tweaking recommended ? I'm comparing to some Chick Corea footage and both sound ok, maybe Keyzone is got more sustain and reverb... anyway, as a deep noob I would appreciate any opinion, setup advice...

If you already own a full version of NI Kontakt 5.6.8 or newer (not the free Kontack Player one), this one looks quite intersting.
https://eti-roads.com/home_en

ty, but cannot 'invest' into music right now or in the near future unless I balance divorce in the mix :) I saw an interesting discussion in reddit https://www.reddit.com/r/synthesizers/c ... des_sound/ with praises to Arturia Stage 73 and (with notable disensions) Pianoteq. I found a free Arturia download but looks clearly illegal since the original is about 150€ on the Arturia site, and I dont want to get into that hole for a whim.

Anyway, there's a legal 20 min free demo at chez Arturia, so I can get a taste of the paid version (wich to my surprise is a phisical model, not samples)

I assume you're referring to the "Rhody EP" patch in Surge? In that case, it sounds nothing like a Rhodes to me, more like a DX7 e-piano. Not that I'm any sort of expert. Don't know about Keyzone Classic but if it's sample based then it probably sounds more like a Rhodes than anything you'd get with a synth like Surge.