Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for 4Front Rhode

Rate & Review 4Front Rhode Now!

Reviewed By Sycopation [read all by] on 20th October 2015
Version reviewed: 7 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Don't expect anyone to hear this and be fooled that it's the real thing, especially if it's prominently featured. But it can sound quite interesting nonetheless. I actually often use a bunch of effects on it to make it sound even less Rhodes-like, and I think that often works a lot better.

The low and high ends sound probably the least Rhodes-like of all, but the high end is really unique sounding, totally usable if you get creative with your effects.

I have the Native Instruments Rhodes and AAS Lounge Lizard, and they both sound more realistic than this, but I still keep finding uses for 4Front.

Totally recommended, and hey, it's free.

Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 27th June 2004
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Daedalus on 6th July 2004.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
User Interface
Clear and easy to use!

Sound
This VSTi can make a beautifull Rhodes sound. It can't to much more than that, but it's not made to do other fancy stuff. the Rhodes-sound is resonably realistic, except when you play very high or very low notes.

Features
It can only make Rhodes sound, not much else. But like I said, it's not made to do much else.

Documentation
Average, but you don't really need any.

Presets
No presets!

Customer Support
Nice website with good support!

VfM
it's free!

Stability
Very stable!
Reviewed By metalsvinet [read all by] on 2nd October 2003
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
a nice warm sounding rhodes emulation with just the right amount of drive. i tend to use it with the eq way down for a mellow muffled sound, but it sounds fine in the top end, too. if you buy the full version you get more tweakability, but i don't really need it as the basic version is spot on for me

you can even be a cheapskate and get the presets for the full version, they work in the free version too. so extra points for features for that.

i have not been impressed by the previous 4front instruments, but this one is a keeper. rock stable, too

vfm? well, it's free
Reviewed By topaz [read all by] on 1st October 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by topaz on 1st October 2003.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Wow, this baby honks.

out of the free VSTi emulations of a Stage73 EP this is the closest I have heard, sure you may get better emulations out of Lounge Lizzard or EVP73 but they come with a price tag.

add a little DB tremelo and boost the eq's a bit and Rhode sits into the mix just right.

it has a certain amount of that drive we know and love from the Stage73, although of coarse the very fair priced Pro Version has more control.

I would like to say that the previous reviews are a case of taste, but in my opinion they are way way off the mark.

one guy said it could not be used in Pro Productions ?
well that is so so untrue. anything can feature on anything, we have used $400 VSTi's to Freebies like Cheese Machine and infact Rhode in our commercial
productions.

all in all a great freebie and well worth getting the Pro Version.

thanks
4front.
Reviewed By Andywanders [read all by] on 1st October 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
According to the developer..

"This module reproduces the classic sound similar to Rhodes/Wurlitzer pianos."

This is very misleading, as anyone who's ever played a real Rhodes or Wurlitzer will testify. The tone is reasonable around middle C, but not very defined in the low register, and way too thin in the higher registers.

The four parameters don't seem to alter anything worthwhile, apart from the volume slider.

If you're really into the sound of a Rhodes, or Wurlitzer, there are much better alternatives to this (mda epiano for instance).

As for value for money, when it comes to free VST's, VFM means "was it worth downloading?" The answer for me was... NO.

Brok said about this "if you dont use it for pro recordings its ok"

In my opinion, if you don't want to use something for pro recordings, you certainly wouldn't want it on demos either.

I understand 4front are looking for advice on marketing. My advice, forget your free stuff, it's getting you a bad rep in certain circles. Concentrate on making your pro versions really "pro", then people will sit up and take notice.

I have a strong feeling this review will be receieved badly, but that's too bad. I'm just giving my honest opinion.
Reviewed By brok landers [read all by] on 27th September 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by brok landers on 27th September 2003.
2 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
plug and play ...

user interface :
its simple. 4 tweaks. thats it.

sound :
one can hear that its not just multisampled. its heavyly processed. and im afraid to say that it doesnt sound like a wurly at all. one can hear that it should sound like a wurly.

features :
volumeslider, velocity sensitivity cutoff and drive (last 2 seem to do nothing at all ? maybe in the pro-version thats available).the cuttoff is not needed because it even sounds muddy when its all open so you probably never tur it down.

docs :
unimportant because not needed.

presets :
none.what you hear is what you get.

support :
never needed.

value for money :
exellent, if one might find it useful.its free.
i personally would not recommend it. to many alternatives by sampling cds and so on.nothing you cannot find anywhere else.
also there are some good emus out there like the evp by emagic or the lounge lizzard. both sound very good, but the lounge lizzard eats up your cpu.

stability :
never crashed at all.

summary :
if you dont use it for pro recordings its ok.

brok landers

Latest 6 reviews from a total of 6

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

Please log in to join the discussion

4Front Rhode

Average user rating of 3.00 from 6 reviews

4Front Technologies
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
69 people have added 4Front Rhode to 19 My KVR groups 84 times
+14 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 835  605  819

30-Day: 821; 7-Day: 959; Yesterday: 1146

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements