Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Borderliner

Rate & Review Borderliner Now!

Reviewed By warbug [read all by] on 21st February 2003
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
this synth does sound mean and gnarley and ugly BUT i did not find any thing that i made on it useful. none of the sounds would sit well in the mix, too boisterious.

the gui is fun but a but too small for my taste.

i feel that if you are looking for ugly sounds and what not go DL the piz synths; his synths are ugly and useful.
Reviewed By penguin dude [read all by] on 14th June 2002
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I'm not sure i rated it what it deserves compared to other peoples ratings, but I think those numbers are becoming increasingly irrelevant.

this is a nasty beast, I was using it today and felt I had to turn down the volume to avoid offending people. the interface isn't clear but that's a bit of a nice feature in that it keeps you from trying to do anything specific.
the most interesting feature has to be the effects section I'm not sure what the effects are but they can get positively brutal. also the presets are pretty nasty, I'm gonna have to write a song just to be able to use this thing... though I'm not clear on exactly how

this thing is genuinly useful (unlike my spelling) if you're stuck in a rut of same sounding vsti's, it also won't be acused of being phat.

in conclusion this isn't a work horse synth, but you could potentially found a new genre on it's sound.
Reviewed By Jim M [read all by] on 11th June 2002
Version reviewed: n/a on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This makes ugly sounds. I like ugly sounds.

I have no idea how this works. Who cares! I like to play with it, slide stuff around, hear the weird sounds ooze out.

Tobybear's emblem may be a teddy bear... but this teddy has fangs and may just have made a mess in your closet... on purpose.

One damn fine, absolutely original VSTi.
Reviewed By LlunaSol [read all by] on 22nd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by Jordi Trujillo Rius on 22nd April 2002.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I'm not used to review synths but I have to admit that this one has surprised me a lot. The interface is extremely confusing but probably this is one of its strongest points :-)

I think that the words that mostly defines Borderline is surprisingly new and fresh. It sound extremely metallic, not bass at all, but good for weird sounds or leads so rich in high harmonics that will stand up any background like was usual with Casio synths. Weird phase distortion sound. It's difficult to defined but worth the time I've spent with it. Don't expect a classic synth but a completely new assortment of sounds despite it's basic substractive architecture.

The presets set is good showing a good range of possibilities. It's a pity but it's monophonic.
Reviewed By KOSMOLITH [read all by] on 20th January 2002
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This thing... sounds like the devil's pubic hairs! I like it. It's unique. The sound is ultra-thin but at the same time it has a hard, solid kernel in the sound, the first I've heard like it in a softsynth. Put it in a big good reverb, and I was reminded of some of Frank Zappa's spooky Synclavier work. Sounds "expensive", what a trip. GUI is too small for old clumsy me, and it's a limited synth, but it's free, useful and makes me excited about future Tobybear synths.
Reviewed By [read all by] on 3rd January 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by tomcat on 3rd January 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Looks are deceiving with this one. Take a little time and you will find that Borderliner sounds very different than other synths. It goes from mellow and cheesy to hot and nasty with the press of a couple of buttons. I like this one a lot! Nice job TobyBear. tomcat

Oh yeah, I used it in CubaseVST/24 v3.7
Reviewed By afx23 [read all by] on 2nd January 2002
Version reviewed: ? on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Interface is great: vsti guys look and learn , being able to point at parts of a vsti and get info on what it does is cool!

Sounds weird but im weird so i like it.

The feature set seems complete for what it aims to acheive.

Documentation is slim but i didn t feel like i needed any really.

Presets are a nice showcase of what this baby can do.

Customer support is probably da best (between da zone and kvr forums)

Value for money is awesome!

Stability : well i used it lots for 3 days not a crash to report (kubase 5)

Latest 7 reviews from a total of 7

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

Please log in to join the discussion

Borderliner

Average user rating of 4.00 from 7 reviews

Tobybear
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
16 people have added Borderliner to 3 My KVR groups 16 times
+1 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 4440  4199

30-Day: 4834; 7-Day: 4814; Yesterday: 5071

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements