Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Loomer
  4. »
  5. Cumulus
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Cumulus

Synth (Granular) Plugin by Loomer
MyKVRFAVORITE69WANT22
Free (with magazine)

Cumulus has an average user rating of 4.00 from 1 review

Rate & Review Cumulus

User Reviews by KVR Members for Cumulus

Reviewed By john glossenger [read all by] on May 30th, 2014
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by john glossenger on 26th June 2014.

Cumulus is available from the physical DVD version of Computer Music Magazine.

It's a granular sampler, run by a sequencer. The sequencer has 8 playable scenes, you can play one scene at a time. Each scene is a location within the sample, plus 12 parameters such as pitch, speed, size and jitter.

I really like the user interface, there's a different color for each scene, and you can easily see how the sequence proceeds through the scenes.

Latest 1 review from a total of 1

Comments & Discussion for Loomer Cumulus

Discussion
Discussion: Active
StudioDave
StudioDave
31 May 2014 at 10:01pm

Just a note to add that the Linux version is sweet too. Tested with Bitwig Studio 1.0.8, works perfectly.

aekazak
aekazak
3 January 2018 at 2:01pm

Please anybody explain me how to download this vst.

colin@loomer
colin@loomer
3 January 2018 at 2:06pm

It's a giveaway on the cover of Computer Music magazine. Buy an issue - either paper copy or digital - and you will find it amongst their distributed plug-ins.

aekazak
aekazak
3 January 2018 at 2:12pm

Tricky thing;) Thanks)

XComposer
XComposer
23 August 2018 at 4:07pm

I have version 1.1.3 (Mac AU). Is this still the last version, please?

colin@loomer
colin@loomer
28 August 2018 at 7:50am

Yes, 1.1.3 is the latest version. There is, however, a newer Mac installer that still uses the same version, but has up to date certificates so you won't get Gatekeeper warnings when installing. If you haven't seen these warnings, then you're up to date. (And if you do, drop me a PM and I'll send you the update.).

XComposer
XComposer
28 August 2018 at 8:43am

Thank you very much! I am still on El Capitan and I'm going to update my system to High Sierra in the future; I don't have any problems now, but if I see that problem, I'll contact you.

mixyguy2
mixyguy2
27 August 2018 at 10:26pm

If I have to buy a magazine to get it, it's not "free." That's like saying "hey I'll give you this new car for free! All you have to do is buy a ham sandwich from me."

"Oh btw the sandwiches cost $25,000."

Lame.

SoundPorn
SoundPorn
27 October 2018 at 4:20am

I just bought an issue for $2.49 off Google Playstore from my phone, and when I got home I quickly registered it then downloaded 1 zip file with over a gig of free instruments and another with other a gig of free effects. It's lame to think things should be %100 free.

CM be like "Hey you can have my car, just do me a favor and buy me a slice of pizza." And you're over hear talking about the nerve lol.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

ganym3d
ganym3d
6 December 2019 at 7:04pm

Mimimi, as we in Germany say... Or: Little Erbsenzähler... :).

plastikanimal
plastikanimal
6 July 2019 at 5:08pm

Great interface. Love the markers and waveform zoom. Not as useful as I had hoped. I wanted aggressive envelopes that would only play a single section of the sample. Like a rex file player but allows you to move the markers. Maybe less focus on grains and more on tempo synced pitch envelopes and loop effects. Anyway, might be fun with pads and synth parts.

colin@loomer
colin@loomer
6 July 2019 at 5:16pm

I'm slowly working on a big update for Cumulus. I'll see if I can use some of your very sensible suggestions, thanks.

XComposer
XComposer
28 November 2021 at 2:06pm

Hello, is there any recent update of Cumulus? I have version 1.1.3 for Mac. Thanks.

colin@loomer
colin@loomer
30 November 2021 at 10:31am

Not at the moment. I have slowly been working on an update with a modern UI and various bug fixes and improvments, but it's still a ways off. I do keep being asked about the update though, so it won't be forgotten. Sorry I don't have better news for you at this point.

XComposer
XComposer
30 November 2021 at 10:58am

It's still working on Mojave, Mac OS 10.14.6, but I'm planning to update my OS so I'm worried about Cumulus, since it's a quite unique effect. The ability to "scan" the sound at a very slow speed, automatically, exploring every moment of it, or even to freeze a very short instant like in a microscope or a magnifying lens, but still keeping the original timbre with high fidelity, is very, very valuable. I know of only another software which can do this with the same fidelity (and also that one is quite old, regrettably). I wouldn't like to remain without this possibility.

Please log in to join the discussion