1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. u-he
  4. »
  5. Diva
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Diva

 My KVR
Synth Plugin by u-he

Diva has an average user rating of 5.00 from 8 reviews

Rate & Review Diva

User Reviews by KVR Members for Diva

Reviewed By dj_echo [read all by] on 15th May 2021
Version reviewed: .7422 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Diva is an analogue modelling synth that really captures the vibe of old analogue gear with some extra additions. It offers a flexible take when it comes to mixing and matching oscillators, envelopes and filters from a variety of classic machines. I personally found mixing FM into a Moog bass gives me some amazing EBM bass tones I can't get with anything else. It's sharp, snappy and full sounding. The sound quality is nigh on perfect...I'm not sure how you could really improve on this. We've reached the point where analog modelling is good enough to make it virtually indistinguishable from the real instruments. The UI is fabulous, it has a great preset system, it's possibly one of a very few synths that I think is in almost all senses, perfect. My only criticism would be that it's quite heavy on the CPU, so on an older system it struggled a bit running multiple instances but I've just upgraded to a Ryzen 3950X and it runs like a dream. I think it's just how things are going, you can have 'ok' and low CPU or you can have fantastic and higher CPU usage. This definitely goes down the later path, though you can enable eco CPU options (though you probably won't want to once you hear how it sounds). Sure, it's slightly pricey but you get a lot of swappable modules in terms of oscillators and filters so it carries a lot of flexibility with Moog, Juno and MS20 style options so sound wise you get a pretty broad palette. You can also dig under the hood on a per voice level and tweak the individual osc tuning which again, gives you a lot of scope to tune this to how perfect/wonky you want it to be. I like my synths a little wonky and characterful and it can absolutely do that.

All in, one of the best vst's you can buy, if not the best. It's been my go to bass synth since I got it. Absolutely great for anything needing a stand out bass sound, so great for techno or dance music or anything with classic analog character. The pads and leads are also great. Big selection of quality presets but being of the classic era, it's super easy to program your own from scratch, not to mention, actually a lot of fun. I think this will be right up there for most people as a 'go to' synth.

Really love this thing.

Click here to read all 8 reviews

Comments & Discussion for u-he Diva

Discussion
Discussion: Active
silhouette
silhouette
9 May 2012 at 10:16am

Urs you are King of the Hill. Congratulations to you and the team, Diva is staggering.

Urs
Urs
14 May 2012 at 9:57am

Thanks so much!

;) Urs

rob_lee
rob_lee
30 July 2012 at 6:07pm

Nice review Aiynzahev... shame there ain't no 11/10 cause Diva smashes the 10 barrier IMO ;-)

Rob

lsc9x
lsc9x
28 June 2013 at 9:33am

Diva became my favorite VST synth almost immediately. The sheer number of awesome presets is staggering. I have done nothing but play it for the last 2 nights. I am trying to get 10 posts on here because I want to write a review of it. not sure what number I'm on. anyway, if you have any question about whether you should get Diva, ask yourself the question: Do you have $10,000+ to spend on analogue hardware synths? No? Get Diva.

abique
abique
19 July 2013 at 6:23pm

Diva filters are fantastic! The sound is clear and rich, seems like magic.

Robmobius
Robmobius
1 September 2013 at 12:34am

Yes! Diva is incredible... U-he is where it's at. The more I play with Diva the better it gets...

rycbar123
rycbar123
25 December 2013 at 5:46pm

It would be perfect if the LFOs could go a little higher, it had one glide knob, and used less CPU.

snigelx
snigelx
25 December 2013 at 5:56pm

Excuse me, but I fail to understand your comment. LFO's go a little higher? One Glide knob? Please explain what you were getting at while I digest my leftovers.

bailees7irish
bailees7irish
10 March 2014 at 9:10am

snigelx, could you be any more rude?

nr1killabee
nr1killabee
10 March 2014 at 10:36am

I am sure he can be more rude.
In what culture/country do you live?
I ask because I understand his comment as he is offering his help.

snigelx
snigelx
10 March 2014 at 2:01pm

?

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

jmoffetiv
jmoffetiv
14 December 2015 at 5:02pm

I am blown away by the sound and intuitiveness. Diva is now my favorite synth of all time and I have had a lot of synths... even better than the Memorymoog. Great job Urs and company.

ZaBong69
ZaBong69
24 March 2016 at 10:09am

This thing is very easy to program and warm analog sounds just fall out of it. The ability to switch modules with a click make this the tool for extremely lazy sound designers.

Highly recommended.

StudioDave
StudioDave
17 October 2016 at 8:53pm

More knowledgeable users have said it all already. Diva is an incredible synthesizer, and by golly u-he even made a native Linux version. Works like a champ here on a multicore system running Fedora 21 with a realtime kernel. Thanks a million, Urs .

ansolas
ansolas
20 October 2016 at 10:43am

Another big plus is that you can directly save Presets in NKS Format and browse them using Maschine or Komplete Kontrol.

rdmtr
rdmtr
24 May 2020 at 7:14pm

Hello fellas, ı just wondering does the diva purchasing supports multiple computer systems?

Urs
Urs
25 May 2020 at 10:10am

Yes, it's a simple serial number which you can use on multiple systems (no online activation or dongle required).

Please log in to join the discussion