Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for DtBlkFx

Rate & Review DtBlkFx Now!

Reviewed By The Chase [read all by] on 5th May 2018
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Meet the new boss - same as the old boss. This old FFT plug-in is still the best all-around FFT freebie.

Whether you want a generic multi-effect, a utility plug-in, or something to mangle your sound into liquidy FFT goodness, it's remains the ultimate FFT tool.

Reviewed By john glossenger [read all by] on 29th May 2014
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by john glossenger on 29th May 2014.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

DtBlkFx is a superb spectral processor, and it's free! It has about 30 different algorithms. You can process as many as 8 algorithms in a series, but usually 1 algorithm is enough.

It reminds me of Native Instrument's discontinued Spectral Delay.

The UI shows a nice sonogram of both the original input and DtBlkFx's output. There is a Delay between the input and the output, this value defaults to 1 beat, but you can reduce that so it's almost instantaneous.

The documentation appears well done. I just goofed with parameters until I figured it out.

The UI is somewhat unusual regarding how to adjust coarse and fine values, but it's actually convenient when you get used to it.

The last update appears to be in 2008.

Reviewed By FarleyCZ [read all by] on 7th March 2012
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by FarleyCZ on 8th March 2012.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

If you have ever wondered how they made that high frequency digital "shimmering" layer in Transformers hacking signal, I'd say answer is spectral mangling.

Few ways how to do it. Pricey Alchemy can do a bit of that, but not much. There are some manglers like SpectrumWorx, but they are expansive and doesn't allow some precise "grabing" and "shifting" of content, which is imho coolest things on spectral mangling. Then you have gadgets like Photosounder that are cool featurwise, but you have to process things off-line and import it. Not what you'd like for music production.

And then you get this plug with name you can't pronounce in any other way then spelling. :D

First you need to get used to GUI. Especially sliders that uses mouse position in creative, useful, but unusual way. Once you get it right, you find it HILARIOUS. All passible digital robot voises and stuff in minutes. Amazing. Great for modernising percussion, sound effect. Really creative and cool.

...aaaand then you find that latency. It's horrible! FFT introduce some sound change based on qualitty based on latency setting. One could live with that, but not if there is no support for host's latency compensation at all. SO you need to shift the material, or use Voxengo latency plugs, then your automation needs to be shifted.... That side of this plug is absolutely horrible and i BEG developer to implement that compensation. PLEEEASEEEE.

Summary: Cool amazing and creative plugin with not much of a competition even in payware sector. Wierd GUI and really shame about it not supporting any latency compensation, which makes it hard to use. But still better then exporting like crazy with other softwares. I like it! :)

Reviewed By soma [read all by] on 14th June 2008
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
No reviews so far?!!! Shame on all of you! This is one of the most amazing shape shifting plugins out there. FFT sonic playdoh is what your input becomes.

Very useful for making sound effects especially but also has a utilitairan purpose. Can be used as a simple filter, spectral gate, grabing a certain frequency at a certain volume, etc.
The real fun though is in the smearing of sounds.

I am so glad it is free! It's not something to overuse but can be instant inspiration when you just need to FSU or want a new sound.
Teh developer if I remember correctly came fromt eh Buzz development scene. I can't recall exactly what he made for buzz, perhaps it was the exact same effect?

Theinterface is not so intuitive but once you get it, you will be thankful that it is layed out the way it is. The sliders are for teh frequency range. Some effects are dependant on others, e.g. one effect is teh sidecahin for the other.

DO read teh manual. It is short and concise. Some of the effects you won't figure out on your own. But luckily the manual is well written and short.

Darrell, if you are our there thank you!! We want more!

Latest 4 reviews from a total of 4

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Pieterom
Pieterom
25 June 2016 at 5:00pm

If would gladly donate a kidney to get this ported to a x64 AU version.

c_voltage
c_voltage
8 April 2017 at 11:04pm

+1 the same for 64-bit VST version

Please log in to join the discussion

DtBlkFx

Average user rating of 4.25 from 4 reviews

Darrell Tam
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
71 people have added DtBlkFx to 9 My KVR groups 75 times
+4 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 727  540  714

30-Day: 754; 7-Day: 449; Yesterday: 1900

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements