Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR
EnginebyBest Service

User Reviews by KVR Members for Engine

Rate & Review Engine Now!

Reviewed By JohJoh [read all by] on 11th January 2019
Version reviewed: 2.5.x on Mac
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Although there are some very (!) interesting libraries - I own several of them - using this sampling engine, I can't wait for them to move to eg Kontakt.

Not that the engine by itself is doing a bad job (actually, it even might include too many features), it's just that the (g)UI is a nightmare.

Looks a lot like a program written by a programmer for his/her own use, rather than one with a client (non-programmer, musician) in mind.

There is a manual (don't google it, click on the question mark right to the 5 big "tab"buttons just below the top of the window), but it's not the kind of manual that will get you up and running quickly. (as a side remark : I like to add notations / yellow mark / etc a manual while using it, you can't do that with this one since it's buried deep down in the application's package, so you better create an editable duplicate of it).

And - always a bad sign - if you look for information or tutorials either as text or as video, there is very little to be found on the internet.

Sure you can load in a library or some of it's instruments easily, but it's the steps beyond that.

Just the mixer section can provide for many hours of fruitless efforts to get it right (eg explain me why - when there is no "layer 7" in the list of layers/loaded instruments, the mixer persists in showing a layer 7 channel ...) .

Compare it to driving a car : an automatic shift car is great for most circumstances, still, I don't mind driving a manual shift car when necessary ... but I do mind having to know how to put together a gear-box myself - and not having some training material on how to do this .

PS : this is not even close to a full review - but currently prefer to spend time trying to actually make music.

PS 2 : turn of the (Engine) reverb on all your instruments - it just eats your cpu.

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

fizzicist
fizzicist
12 August 2016 at 8:59am

Huh? As of 2016-08-12, the Best Service downloads page for Engine still shows v2.3.0.148 as being in beta, and says, "Please be aware that this version can still contain some bugs." The beta has been available since 2016-05-11, so it's not news that it exists. If you click on that download link, you really do get the beta installer, so if you have the previous version and it's working (and you don't want to take a chance on the beta version), stick with what you've got until Best Service releases the final version.

fizzicist
fizzicist
3 May 2018 at 7:32am

As of this writing (2018-05-03), the Best Service Downloads page for Engine shows "Installer Mac OS X 2.5.0.177 - 10.9 - 10.13 (64-bit) - AU & VST & AAX Native (Pro Tools 11+)", but the listing is not an active link. There's no way to download the v2.5.0.177 update. What's up with that?

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
3 May 2018 at 12:00pm

It is written "Coming soon". I think that it is clear enough. It is an announcement, simply. It is not yet totally ready. Even on this present KVR page they have not changed the current version number from 2.5.0.100 to 2.5.0.177. And that, even if they write "Aktuelle Versionen" on their webpage.

Conclusion : the version 2.5.0.177 is about to be released, but not yet. We simply have to still wait a bit. That's all. Let's wait. In the meanwhile I don't have any great issue with the version 2.5.0.100.

fizzicist
fizzicist
4 May 2018 at 6:32am

Actually, in the way it's written on the Best Service Downloads page, the "Coming soon" is shown for the Windows version, whereas the Mac version explicitly lists the relevant system versions and formats.

And I'm not sure how your browser is displaying this page, but mine very clearly shows that v2.5.0.177 is the current Mac version as of 2018-04-30. In my experience, it is not customary for Best Service to update the Engine version on this page before they actually release it, so my query is not unreasonable.

As for version 2.5.0.100, you might not "have any great issue" with it, but your experience is not universally applicable. Version 2.5.0.100 takes a long time to load the plugin and even longer to load or change an instrument in Logic Pro 9 running in macOS 10.12.6.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
4 May 2018 at 5:38pm

Yes, of course. But probably that the best is to ask them directly by their support. I have already used their support (for one of their products) just last year, and they replied immediately, kindly and in a very reactive way. You should try, you would have obviously their actual answer to this point which is, I perfectly recognize it, is troubling.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

fizzicist
fizzicist
4 May 2018 at 5:58pm

I did contact support immediately after I posted here, and I received a reply today. Apparently the release has been delayed, although they didn't say why.

That still doesn't explain why they would list 2.5.0.177 on their downloads page and also show it here as the current version before it's actually available, but it does eliminate some uncertainty. At least it's a confirmation that it's not a question of someone having forgotten to include a working download link.

For the record, I agree that Best Service's support has always been very responsive, helpful, and professional. I certainly have no complaints in that regard.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
10 May 2018 at 5:23pm

As you can see the update is now available.

:-)

It is even 2.5.0.183... which proves that they were still working on the fix updates as I thought.

Cheers.

Please log in to join the discussion

Engine

Average user rating of 2.00 from 1 review

Best Service
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
50 people have added Engine to 11 My KVR groups 63 times
+6 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 346  269  343

30-Day: 181; 7-Day: 50; Yesterday: 135

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements