Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. LinPlug
  4. »
  5. Free Alpha
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Free Alpha

 My KVR
Synth (Analogue / Subtractive) Plugin by LinPlug
No Longer Available

Free Alpha has an average user rating of 4.30 from 10 reviews

Rate & Review Free Alpha

User Reviews by KVR Members for Free Alpha

Reviewed By rvltion909@yahoo.com [read all by] on April 17th, 2007
Version reviewed: free on Windows
Simply said this little guy has some GREAT sound quality. Its got a very basic interface with all the standard controls.

The thing that stood out to me right away was its sound quality. The filter got my attention right away. Its something you learn to appreciate after downloading loads of "freeware" products.

It comes with some great sounding presets. Props to Linplug for this gem! Straight to the point reliability and quality, not ground breaking but great promo product and one of THE best freebies I have.
end

Click here to read all 10 reviews

Comments & Discussion for LinPlug Free Alpha

Discussion
Discussion: Active
bruhmannbd
bruhmannbd
27 September 2012 at 9:36pm

Hello Forum I'm newbie, I installed free alpha on my MacBook Pro and now Pro Tools wont work> Is there some setting I missed?

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
1 November 2013 at 4:23pm

The new page for Alpha and Free Alpha is this one :

http://www.linplug.com/alpha.html

The choice among both is made using the tabs at the bottom of the page.

skotterz
skotterz
3 November 2013 at 7:02pm

does anyone know if the alpha can work with other DAWs? So far in my research it appears Pro Tools is a requirement, but why would they limit it? I'm using Ableton Live 9.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
3 November 2013 at 10:20pm

Here at home:

  • with Cantabile Lite: no problem.
  • With Band-In-A-Box 2013: no problem.
  • With Magix Samplitude Music Studio 17: no problem.
  • With Mutools Mulab: No problem.
  • With SAVIHost: no problem.
  • With VSTHost: No problem.
  • With BigTick Zen: No problem.

Beware! Like many VST's Free Alpha is provided to be installed as 32-bit but also to be installed as 64-bit (in the case of FreeAlpha you must launch the same installer twice and make your choice each time).

  • 32-bit VSTs must be used only with 32-bit DAWs.
  • 64-bit VSTs must be used only with 64-bit SAWs.

So... always the same recurrent question which in 95% of the cases resolve the problem: are you sure that you try to use FreeAlpha 32-bit (named "freealpha.dll") with Ableton Live Lite 32-bit and that you try to use FreeAlpha 64-bit (named "freealpha 64.dll") with Ableton Live Lite 64-bit?

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

skotterz
skotterz
3 November 2013 at 10:57pm

blackwinny, thanks very much for the reply. (I use Ableton Live 9 Suite, 32-bit, by the way.) I read the 'Read Me' system requirements for Alpha too quickly, misreading that ProTools was required for it to work. .. my bad - it works just fine. i'm trying out the free version as I'm keen to use its microtuning capabilities.

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
17 April 2014 at 4:33pm

I've just found an old (2007) but good review here, with a rather deep description of this free edition (with even audiogram curves of the filters).

chris 444
chris 444
4 September 2016 at 8:35am

unfortunately no recent link for download ?

ace89tony
ace89tony
19 September 2016 at 3:06pm

No So the company themselves are giving the plugin for free @.

https://www.kvraudio.com/product/free-alpha-by-linplug.

for now...................

capracan
capracan
14 September 2017 at 3:18am

How to scroll the next Presets after "LD intrusive Lead 2 vv".

There is no scrollbar, cant drag and pull, mousewheel no function...

If i click the browser-button, in the wrapped alpha panel, in bitwig 2.1, i have more presets available...if i choose one of the not visible presets, the preset view in alpha itself jump to the first preset (Alpha !!! BT), but play sometimes the choosed preset not always. Its confusing.

dr0ppa
dr0ppa
29 November 2018 at 11:11pm

I accidentally deleted my set of original presets that come with this plug-in... could someone re-upload the original stock presets that come with this?

Please log in to join the discussion