Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Gater-Pro

Rate & Review Gater-Pro Now!

Reviewed By tommyzai [read all by] on 1st January 2014
Version reviewed: 3.0 on Mac.
Last edited by tommyzai on 1st January 2014.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Gater-Pro by SPC Plugins is a useful and inspiring stereo trance gate effect. Each time I launch it and create a gated sequence I discover something unique that sparks my creativity. Naturally, it's perfect for trance, but it can also help drive any other kind of rhythmic-based audio. If you're not looking for a robotic sound simply engage the swing feature and bring some humanity back into the mix. I plan to use it on pads, drones, and eBow'd guitar lines to help create a pulse and shimmer that is in sync with the track. While researching, I found a useful suggestion from a fellow user, "You don't need to have the gate at 100% wet, but a hint of Gater-Pro on an effect return can provide some lift to the mix."

PROS

  • Simple, neat and clean interface.
  • Cool features: swing control, switchable rates, three gate shapes, etc.
  • Bypass switch.
  • CPU friendly.
  • Stable.
  • Inexpensive.
  • Responsive developer (good communication and frequent updates).

CONS

  • I can't think of any, but adding a zillion presets would be nice.

CONCLUSION

I highly recommend Gater-Pro for any eMusician, producer, sound designer, DJ, etc., who is creating rhythmic music. It's an excellent little plugin that can make a BIG difference if used wisely. Tommy Zai gives Gater-Pro two perfectly sync'd thumbs up. Thank you, SPC, for creating such a cool audio tool.

Reviewed By sqigls [read all by] on 29th March 2013
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Mac.
Last edited by sqigls on 29th March 2013.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

"Two thumbs UP!" - Fiskel and Egbert.

Gater-Pro is an incredibly useful tool. It doesn't matter if you don't make tarnce music, this step-gate can be used for all sorts of purposes. By using a few clever step-ties, and the mix and envelope controls, it is possible to put instruments in their place. De-mud and add some groove and space to a reverb-washed or frequency-challenged instrument. The swing control also makes it easy to slot Gater-Pro into any track.

I am personally finding new uses for Gater-Pro each time I use it. Think outside the box...

Make a gated sequence that is chopped and swung (swinged :P) to the extreme and fits with the groove of the track, now back it off with the dry/wet mix control.
Try this on reverb busses even, with Gater-Pro on a reverb you can create some amazing pulses that add to the movement of the track. You don't need to have the gate at 100% wet, but a hint of Gater-Pro on an effect return can provide some lift to the mix. My theory is, when you leave 'holes' in reverb tails, they are filled with the natural reverb of the club or venue you are playing at. They sort of mesh and can create an amazing reverb that sits well and isn't so muddy.

Sometimes I even use Gater-Pro in a bit of a transient designer style, by creating gates which maybe cut off something like a long snare, then using the decay envelope and perhaps mix control, it's possible to add something to the groove, SUBTRACTIVELY!! (if that's a word :P).

Gater-Pro earns a 10 out of 10 from me, with this version 2 release. It's incredibly useful, stable, and also very light on the CPU. Not to mention very affordable! Check it out! and HAVE FUN!.

Latest 2 reviews from a total of 2

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Sendy
Sendy
30 March 2013 at 9:20pm

Yep, subtractively's a word :) Great review, all reviews should discuss usage tips, there's not enough creativity out there.

sqigls
sqigls
2 April 2013 at 7:10am

Cheers Sendy ;).

murnau
murnau
31 March 2013 at 6:19pm

great plugin. the yellow/grey gui is somehow not my taste but the plugin itself is top! i use it to "duck" pads and fake sidechain. it's wonderful for many purposes as sqigls pointed out. dare to create your own presets - you wont regret it, i must say that i dont liked the delivered ones.

gsilbers
gsilbers
2 April 2013 at 1:43am

great plugin but keeps crashing logic 64-bit. it loads but when i open the plugin in a channel strip it crashes logic. :(.

its the only plugin that does this. :(.

sqigls
sqigls
2 April 2013 at 7:09am

You should contact support, I have a feeling Logic is the last area of ironing for OS X.
Let them know how to reproduce the crash, at least touch base. They have ironed out my bugs previously, and sent me special pre-release versions to help the development of the plugin. Best of luck.

SPC Plugins
SPC Plugins
14 June 2014 at 9:53am

Thank you for your positive comments :-) I've just discovered this section of KVR and previously had no idea that there were any comments posted. Did you contact me about this problem? If you didn't, I wish you had done. I do my best to fix any problems with my plug-ins ASAP. Please contact me if you're still experiencing any problems.

murnau
murnau
15 November 2013 at 10:53pm

still enjoy the plugin. the free upgrade to 3.0 is great. 64-bit for window would be even greater nowdays,.

SPC Plugins
SPC Plugins
14 June 2014 at 10:06am

Glad you like my plug-in. With regards to 64-bit Windows - you're absolutely correct. I've only recently upgraded to a 64-bit machine following the demise of XP (small developer, limited resources) and will have a 64-bit version available soon. It will be a free upgrade for registered customers. You mention in a comment above that you don't like the factory presets - you're welcome to send me any presets you've programmed to include in a future release, either as new presets or as extra banks of presets.

sqigls
sqigls
16 November 2013 at 2:55am

v3.0 is stable on my rig… OS X 10.8.5, Live 9.0.5, Cubase 6.5.5.
:D.

Please log in to join the discussion

Gater-Pro

Average user rating of 5.00 from 2 reviews

SPC Plugins
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
9 people have added Gater-Pro to 5 My KVR groups 11 times
+1 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 7321  4677  6644

30-Day: 8274; 7-Day: 11242; Yesterday: 11983

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements