Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Heri H. Hasyim
  4. »
  5. Laras Composition
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Laras Composition

 My KVR
Music Composition Tool by Heri H. Hasyim

Laras Composition has an average user rating of 5.00 from 2 reviews

Rate & Review Laras Composition

User Reviews by KVR Members for Laras Composition

Reviewed By oldcastle [read all by] on August 4th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Linux

What a wonderful application! It's an oasis for beginners, and a time saver for the advance ones.

BTW: I'm using Linux, but the review form doesn't list Linux as a OS.

Click here to read all 2 reviews

Comments & Discussion for Heri H. Hasyim Laras Composition

Discussion
Discussion: Active
soundpeaks
soundpeaks
7 July 2021 at 10:33pm

I think the app is awesome but it took me for like 10 minutes to figure out how to start playing a sequence I didn't used to pres logo to play something, I was hitting PLAY and nothing was going on A little bit questionable design decision. But overall design and progression database is phenomenal.

larascomposition
larascomposition
8 July 2021 at 3:13pm

Hi Soundpeaks. Yes, maybe I should have made it more obvious to user. I put the info in the Instant Start section in the integrated user guide. I have made the user guide section more obvious now. Thanks.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Rock
Rock
8 July 2021 at 7:18pm

I have a number of suggestions, but I don't know how to contact you. The first suggestion is to swap the colors for vi and vii dim (Am and Bdim in the screenshot). The colors are out of order. Purple comes before the hot pink in the spectrum. All of the other colors are in order.

Rock
Rock
8 July 2021 at 7:28pm

Oh. I found your email address in the application about menu. I will try to get some time to contact you regarding other suggestions. Looks great. I teach high school music technology so this is very handy.

larascomposition
larascomposition
8 July 2021 at 7:56pm

Ahhh good :) I was just about to write my email here. Love to hear any suggestion. One of my hope for Laras, that it can be useful in teaching music. Thanks Rock.

StewartJK
StewartJK
8 August 2021 at 10:07am

May I suggest Highlighting the 'Generate and Play MIDI' label in the integrated user guide. Either by increasing the font, making it bold or both. I too had the problem with not knowing how to get it to play, though I did look at the 'instant start' page, though it was too busy for me to see the basic information needed to get started.

Would it also be possible to employ tooltips, or perhaps a message area somewhere that explains what something does when hovering over a control?

Although I am yet to really delve into making use of the tool, it looks great and very, very helpful in so many ways.

larascomposition
larascomposition
9 August 2021 at 2:00pm

Hi Stewart.

Thanks for the suggestion, I think I will rework the guide a bit in future release. I hope you enjoy your experience with LARAS.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

oldcastle
oldcastle
9 July 2021 at 8:51am

That's a wonderful tool. Well done.

Next step, a video tutorial? Newbies like me would appreciate a lot :-).

Kazi7
Kazi7
10 July 2021 at 8:50am

Yes, an introductory video tutorial aimed at music theory newbies would really help. Just explaining the layout and the basic functions. Ideally, post the video to a corresponding KVR thread and allow forum users to ask additional questions.

larascomposition
larascomposition
3 August 2021 at 8:28am

Hi Oldcastle and Kazi7
Video tutorial is up and running on Youtube.

@Tatanka
I'm sorry that I mistakenly removed the comment when I wanted to reply. Hope you find the way in LARAS menu. That old Jamstix comparison is really spot on :).

tatanka
tatanka
5 August 2021 at 2:01pm

Hi, .

no problem, the video tuturial is really good, I recommend to anybody wanting to get into it. Encourages me to give it another try :-).

aggplanta
aggplanta
11 August 2021 at 6:01am

Very nice tool. Been waiting for something like this. There are a couple bugs that needs to be reported. Also suggestions would be nice to send in. I see that you're going to release the software as open source. Maybe github? Anyhow, do you have a issue tracker where I/we can report bugs/suggestions?

I use Linux and have tested Laras on two different OS, OpenSUSE and Ubuntu Studio.

larascomposition
larascomposition
12 August 2021 at 4:14am

Hi Aggplanta.

Thank you very much, glad that you like LARAS.
I'm still cleaning the code, etc. In the mean time we can discuss suggestions or bug reporting through LARAS discussion forum here https://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=567518

Nice to hear that it runs on OpenSUSE. I only tested it Ubuntu Studio and PCLinuxOS.

Cheers.

Tguyfr
Tguyfr
19 August 2021 at 8:57am

Seems interesting, but I've been unable to load the app under Big Sur. I have a 'Unable to access jarfile Laras.jar' message. What didi I miss in the installation process ? My JRE is up to date.

larascomposition
larascomposition
19 August 2021 at 4:46pm

Hi Tguyfr, you might to check the discussion here https://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=567518 a user, zachy9, faced the same problem and found the solution.
I'm sorry I could not recreate the problem. I don't have access to Big Sur machine, I tested Laras on Catalina. You might want to check this article https://wolfpaulus.com/java-on-macos-big-sur/

Tguyfr
Tguyfr
21 August 2021 at 5:53pm

Hi I just found the solution... by placing Laras folder in the App folder. So simple ! Big Sur (Big Secure ?) refused to launch it outside the App folder. You should update your readme to help other users open the gates;).

larascomposition
larascomposition
24 August 2021 at 10:03am

Thanks Tguyfr for letting me know. I will surely update the readme. The "Gates" will open in Big Sur, without Bill :).

PaulBilou
PaulBilou
26 August 2021 at 3:46pm

A big thank you for this wonderful instrument.
I am a novice and an example for the Major / minor motion composition learning tool would be valuable.
Likewise for the connection with my daw cubase
thanks again.

larascomposition
larascomposition
26 August 2021 at 6:12pm

Thanks Paul, enjoy :).

AG21
AG21
23 September 2021 at 7:17am

Hello, it seems like such a beautiful resource. I am trying to open the app on Win10, but as I run the .bat file it says can't locate laras.jar file.

Any recommendations? Thanks.

Please log in to join the discussion